University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Book Reviews, Librarianship, Publications

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Book Review research please see the Book Review Research Guide

Section Headings List

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Images- Images. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

Book Reviews

Many subject indexes cover book reviews. Ask a librarian for assistance.

Book Review Digest Plus Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Book reviews from nearly 100 American and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, as well as library review media. Selected full text.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Choice Reviews 1988-Current Brief Information

Reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to libraries and higher education. Canceled due to budget cuts. Access ends March 2008.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ALA

Librarianship

Library Literature Full Text Citations or Abstracts Full Text

A unique working and teaching tool created by librarians for librarians, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts 1960-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Other Resources

Booklists and Book Awards Full Text Webpage
Access: Free Vendor: ALA
Books in Print/Out of Print Citations or Abstracts

Information on all U.S. books in print, Covers scholarly, technical, popular, adult, juvenile, and reprint titles.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker
Credo Reference Books Brief Information Full Text

Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Credo Reference
Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Evans Digital 1639-1800 Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf Books Brief Information Full Text

Gale's Ready Reference Shelf provides integrated access to 355,000 entries culled from the databases of fourteen of Gale's most popular reference directories.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Gale's Virtual Reference Library Books Full Text

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Gutenberg-e Books Full Text

Full text of a small collection of scholarly books in history and social studies.

Gutenberg-e has traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Columbia U
Literature Resource Center Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Top-pick netLibrary Books Full Text Webpage

A collection of over 40,000 books in full text, including both current and classic works.

All users must create a netLibrary account. Use a campus computer, Pegasus, or the Proxy when you create your account.

Once the account has been created, you can log into netLibrary and "check-out" books for up to two hours.

Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
New York Times - LexisNexis 1969-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

In Academic Universe, click Sources in the menu near the top of the screen and enter New York Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CIS/LexisNexis
New York Times - ProQuest 1969-Current Full Text

Full text of New York times and 4 other national newspapers: Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Christian Science Monitor.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
New York Times, Historical - ProQuest 1861-2003 Full Text Images

Complete text and images of the New York Times.

Digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Citations or Abstracts

Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features (i.e. reviews, whether a journal is refereed) and indexing/abstracting services coverage.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker
Women Writers Project 1500-1800 Full Text

Full text of Pre-Victorian early modern women's writing.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Brown U

 

Last Updated June 27, 2008