University of Central Florida Libraries 9/8/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

History

Section Headings List

Audio- Audio. Books- Books. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Images- Images. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Video- Video. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

America: History and Life Citations or Abstracts

History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Historical Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Indexes over 2000 journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present. interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Primary Sources-Archives and Documents

American State Papers 1789-1838 Full Text

Primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838.

Includes Congressional and Executive Department materials related to: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post-office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Various Other Topics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank
AP Images Audio Video

Photographs from as early as 1840's and other graphics spanning over 160 years of history. Includes a small selection of recent sound clips.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AccuWeather
ArchiveGrid Citations or Abstracts

Search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: RLG
Central Florida Memory Full Text

A unique digital collection of material contributed by partner institutions.

Access: Free Vendor: CFM
Congressional Serial Set 1817-1892 Full Text

Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary material on all aspects of American history.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank
Florida Documents Index Citations or Abstracts

Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU).

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA
Government Documents at UCF Full Text Webpage

Provides links and information about government resources, many of which are freely accessible via the Web.

Access: Free Vendor: UCF
Historic Documents Series Full Text

Since 1972 documents covering the most significant events of the year, these documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CQ
Historical Statistics of the United States 1600-Current Data

a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975, has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Cambridge
History Resource Center: US Citations or Abstracts Full Text

History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
In The First Person Citations or Abstracts

An Index to letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ASP
PALMM Full Text

Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship relevant to the students, research community, and general citizenry of Florida.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA
Statistical Resources on the Web Full Text Webpage

A list of freely available statistical resources compiled by the University of Michigan.

Access: Free Vendor: University of Michigan

Primary Sources-Articles and Books

American Periodicals Series Online 1741-1940 Full Text Journals

A full text collection of American magazines and journals.

This collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, and 1900.

Access: Proxy Vendor: UMI
Early English Books Online Books Full Text Webpage

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Evans Digital 1639-1800 Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era Reconstruction I & II 1857-1912 Full Text Journals

The 56 years of Harper’s Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.

Access: Proxy Vendor: HarpWeek

Primary Sources-Newspapers

Florida Alligator Citations or Abstracts

Indexes the University of Florida student newspaper from 1984-1991.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA
Florida Newspapers List Webpage

Identifies Florida newspapers for which the UCF Library has available.

Access: Free Vendor: UCF
Florida Times-Union Index 1986-1997 Citations or Abstracts

Indexing is limited to Northeast Florida regional news.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA
Index to the Times 1906-1980 Citations or Abstracts

Short index entries from the 296 printed volumes of the Official Index to the London Times which covers the years 1906-1980 inclusive.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FCLA
Los Angeles Times 1985-Current Full Text

Full-text articles from the Los Angeles Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
New York Times, Historical - ProQuest 1861-2003 Full Text Images

Complete text and images of the New York Times.

Digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Newspapers List Webpage

List newspapers available on microfilm in the UCF Library, as well as links to other news resources.

Access: Free Vendor: UCF
Orlando Sentinel 1985-Current Full Text

Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.

Access: Proxy Vendor: NewsBank
Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1980 Citations or Abstracts

A collection of short index entries from the 296 printed volumes of the Official Index to the London Times which covers the years 1906-1980 inclusive.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FCLA
Wall Street Journal 1985-Current Full Text

Financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Washington Post 1985-Current Full Text

Full-text articles from the Washington Post.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Secondary Sources-Articles and Books

Gutenberg-e Books Full Text

Full text of a small collection of scholarly books in history and social studies.

Gutenberg-e has traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Columbia U
History of Science and Technology 1973-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexing to journals, conferences, books, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSerach
Humanities Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance 1943-Current Citations or Abstracts

A collection of electronic resources relevant to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Access: Proxy Vendor: Iter
JSTOR Full Text Journals

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
Top-pick netLibrary Books Full Text Webpage

A collection of over 40,000 books in full text, including both current and classic works.

All users must create a netLibrary account. Use a campus computer, Pegasus, or the Proxy when you create your account.

Once the account has been created, you can log into netLibrary and "check-out" books for up to two hours.

Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Project MUSE Full Text Journals

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U
Social Sciences Citation Index Citations or Abstracts

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI
Social Sciences Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Secondary Sources-Biography

African American Biographical Database Full Text Webpage

Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy
Biographies of Notable People Full Text Webpage

Arranged by occupation, from the Librarians' Index to the Internet

Access: Free Vendor: Lii
Biography & Genealogy Master Index Citations or Abstracts

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

References 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 current and retrospective reference books, covering contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Biography Index Full Text

Citations to biographies published in books, magazines, and journals.

Cites more than 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books, including individual and collective biographies, as well as juvenile literature.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick Biography Resource Center & The Complete Marquis Who's Who Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. List of Sources included,such as the Dictionary of American Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Secondary Sources-Other

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
History Net.com Webpage

Links for history, newsletter, book reviews.

Access: Free
WorldCat Citations or Abstracts

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

 

Last Updated June 25, 2008