University of Central Florida Libraries 11/7/2009 http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Hospitality

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

Listed below are some of the most commonly used databases for Hospitality topics. For more assistance, please refer to our Rosen Library Research Guides or submit a question to Ask a Rosen Librarian.

*Best Resources

Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Leisure Tourism Database is the leading database on leisure, tourism, hospitality and recreation information.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CABI

Business/Mangement Aspects

Articles on business-related disciplines and over 60,000 companies.

Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Includes business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, company histories and new product development.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Business information focusing on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Business Full Text 1913-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Index to 345 English language business magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Citations to articles in business and related fields.

Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
EconLit 1969-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals, covering , capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Canceled due to budget cuts.

Access: CANCELED Vendor: InformationUSA

Tabular information of a strategic nature drawn from the Business & Industry database.

he tables provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics, originating from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

See Business Abstracts Full Text and Retrospective.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Company/Industry Research

Access: Proxy Vendor: Hoovers

A collection of Industry Market Research.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ibis

Company Dossier is part of LexisNexis Academic business information solutions including: legal, corporate, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic, and risk and compliance assessment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
Access: Proxy Vendor: Mintel

Database for searching information on stocks, companies and mutural funds.

Access: Proxy Vendor: S&P
Access: Proxy Vendor: Value Line

Education Aspects

Education Full Text 1929-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Legal Apects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. LexisNexis Academic Research Guide

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Marketing Data

A collection of company and industry information, including articles, reports, finacials, and more.

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals articles covering company and industry news.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Business Insights Data

Canceled due to budget cuts. Market research and business reports covering consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology industries.

Access: CANCELED Vendor: Business Insights

International market research covering: automotive; consumer; energy; financial services; health care and technology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: R4L

Statistics, market research, and publications on sports business, sales, and participation.

Access: Proxy Vendor: SBR

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Select a program to help you organize citations and generate a bibliography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: UCF

Research Reports on various "hot" issues ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CQ

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
OmniFile Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Multi-disciplinary source for citations and full text articles.

Includes the complete content from six Wilson database:

  • Business Index Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • General Science Full Text
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Readers' Guide
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features (i.e. reviews, whether a journal is refereed) and indexing/abstracting services coverage.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

 

Last Updated June 19, 2009