University of Central Florida Libraries 11/7/2009 http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Online Reference Sources

Education

Prepared by Richard Gause, Richard Harrison, and Terrie Sypolt.

Section Headings List

See also: Education Databases | Online Reference Sources: General | Education Web Sites

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

Accreditation

Acronyms/Abbreviations

Abbreviations, Acronyms, and Initialisms Frequently Used by Oak Ridge DOE Contractors

Access: Free

Look up 61,000 acronyms/abbreviations and their meanings. A searchable database containing common acronyms and abbreviations about all subjects, with a focus on computers, technology, telecommunications, and the military.

Access: Free
Access: Free

Enter an acronym to find its corresponding full name or phrase.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Almanacs

Web site is not a replica of The Florida Almanac that is in Ready Reference.

Access: Free
World Almanac 1868-Current Books Brief Information Full Text

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike, includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Associations/Professional Organizations

Access: Free Vendor: DOE
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Links to the homepages of over 16,000 non-profit organizations. Find organizations, jobs, internships, events and more, in 152 countries.

Access: Free

Produced by the University of Waterloo, this site provides links to nearly 1,300 worldwide associations and societies, academies, federations, and other groups pursuing scholarly activities. By the University of Waterloo.

Access: Free

Links to over thousands of organizations. Search by group name, country, region, mission or group focus.

Access: Free
Access: Free Vendor: Yahoo

Biographies/People

Arranged by occupation, from the Librarians' Index to the Internet

Access: Free Vendor: Lii

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

References 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 current and retrospective reference books, covering contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Citations to biographies published in books, magazines, and journals.

Cites more than 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books, including individual and collective biographies, as well as juvenile literature.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. List of Sources included,such as the Dictionary of American Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
DNB: Dictionary of National Biography

Canceled due to budget cuts. Print volumes 1 - 60 are availible in Main Library, Orlando, Reference DA28 .O95 2004. Other databases that provide biographical information include Biography Resource Center and Biography & Genealogy Master Index. Contact Ask a Librarian for help.

Access: CANCELED

Census/Demographics

Access: Free Vendor: US Census
Access: Free Vendor: US Census
Access: Free Vendor: Florida EDR

Allows you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations.

Access: Free Vendor: UN

Includes data for individual countries

Access: Free Vendor: US Census
Access: Free Vendor: US Census

National, state, county, place & county subdivision, metropolitan area

Access: Free Vendor: US Census
Access: Free Vendor: US Census

Certification

By the University of Kentucky.

Access: Free
Access: Free Vendor: Florida DOE
Access: Free Vendor: Florida DOE

Children's Literature

Part of Biography Resource Center.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Free Vendor: ALA
Access: Free Vendor: ALA
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus

Publication information and MARC records on over 600,000 children's books, and more than 100,000 reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Children's List

No copyright restrictions.

Access: Free

Lists resources related to books for children. By the University of Calgary.

Access: Free

Offers abstracts of over 5000 children's picture books; search capabilities for over 950 keywords, including topics, concepts, and skills which describe each book; and weblinks for keywords so one can integrate up-to-date content knowledge with the picture book resources. By Miami University.

Access: Free
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus

Creates a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. By Lisa Bartle.

Access: Free

Selection of 800 sketches from Something About The Author.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

1922- present

Access: Free Vendor: ALA

By Rutgers University.

Access: Free
Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary

Colleges and Universities

Access: Free Vendor: Peterson's
Access: Free

CollegeSource® Online features over 13,624 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Career Guidance Foundation
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary

By the University of Florida.

Access: Free

Directory of colleges and universities.

Includes technical and distance learning programs, and other institutions of higher education.

Access: Free Vendor: Peterson's

Also print copy in Reference L 901 .P442

Access: Free

Country Information

Access: Free Vendor: DoS

Theory and research in international affairs, publishing a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Columbia University

In World Bank.

Access: Free Vendor: Worldbank

Search by word or country then go to the education section. By the Library of Congress.

Access: Free
Access: Free Vendor: UN
Access: Free Vendor: UN
Access: Free Vendor: CIA

Dictionaries

Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Free
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Free Vendor: Britannica

The largest dictionary of word descriptions and history of usage.

Also available in print in Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OUP
Access: Free Vendor: xreferplus

Directories

Access: Free Vendor: ASD

Universities worldwide.

Access: Free
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Selectively ncluded in Biography Resource Center.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Free Vendor: NCES
Access: Free Vendor: NCES

Encyclopedias

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By San Diego State University, Dept. of Educational Technology.

Access: Free
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Premier encyclopedia for behavioral and social sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Free Vendor: Library of Congress
Access: Free Vendor: Stanford U

Grants

Database of federal programs available to state and local governments

Access: Free

the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Access: Free

Fund raising opportunities, updated weekly

Access: Free

Fund raising opportunities in education

Access: Free

PK-12 school grant opportunities

Access: Free

Handbook

Access: Proxy Vendor: netLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary
Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary

E-Access contains full-text articles and chapters regarding research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the fields of information science, technology and management.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Idea Group
Access: Free
Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary

Newer edition in Reference GV 731 .H85 2004 Move to reference. Older to gencol

Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary

Statistics

Access: Free

Acquires, processes, documents, and disseminates data collected by national, state or provincial, local, and private organizations, pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data can be made available.

Access: Free Vendor: IAED

By the University of Texas.

Access: Free Vendor: University of Texas

Indexes statistical publications and some full text.

Includes:

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States.
  • American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-

The UCF Library has the full text of some ASI, SRI, and IIS reports in print or microfiche. Tips for Searching.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Primary government agency for collecting and analyzing educational data for the U.S. and its comparison to those of other countries.

Access: Free Vendor: NCES
Access: Free Vendor: US Census

A list of freely available statistical resources compiled by the University of Michigan.

Access: Free Vendor: University of Michigan

Test Prep

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

A database used for searching colleges, test preparation, searching vocational ro career schools, planning eduaction finances and scholatic opportunities.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson’s.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

By Peterson's.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Thesauri

Access: Free Vendor: xreferplus
Access: Free

Yearbooks

Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Search by alphabetical or category listing or test titles by keyword to access information just as it appears in the test description portion of The Mental Measurements Yearbook series.

Access: Free Vendor: Buros

 

Last Updated January 24, 2009