University of Central Florida Libraries
3/13/2010
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Nursing

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Nursing Research please see the Nursing Research Guide

*Best Resources

Top-pick CINAHL 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text Top-pick

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Top-pick PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

The free version of MEDLINE. ''Note,the link above requires login for off-campus access and provides SFX links. For access with no login use this link: PubMed (no SFX).

Access: Free Vendor: NLM

E-Books

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources ; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Full text of over 50 medical reference book, over 80 journals and Clinics of North America. Also includes peer-reviewed practice guidelines, patient handouts which you can customize, and drug information is provided by Gold Standard.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Provides Guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Merck

Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

Full text health sciences books from leading publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Rittenhouse

Online access to the FLEXIBOOK Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

Evidence Based Medicine

An international compendium of the research and evidence on the treatment of various medical conditions, and synopses on the effectiveness of common clinical interventions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BMJ

Provides evidence based clinical information on more than 3,000 topics for use at the point-of-care ; includes ICD-9 Codes and levels of evidence.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Includes ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and National Health Service Economic Evaluation. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

The largest and most current Clinical Knowledge Base available to physicians and other healthcare professionals. Nearly 10,000 physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content, updated regularly, provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes 4 levels of physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication.

Access: Proxy Vendor: eMedicine

Formerly know as InfoPOEMS/InfoRetriever, Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful resource database packed with content, tools, calculators and alerts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley-Blackwell

Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses ; includes the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature and The Rational Clinical Examination (access limited to 4 concurrent users).

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines

Access: Free Vendor: AMA

Other Resources

AgeLine 1978-Current Citations or Abstracts

Detailed summaries of more than 90,000 publications about aging and the 50+ population. See also the AgeLine Thesaurus.

Indexes journal content related to social, psychological, health-related, and economic aspects of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966. Indexes the SCAN Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AARP

Full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of health care. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Information on behavioral measurement instruments gathered from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Provides full text for nearly 540 scholarly health journals, and over 190 consumer journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of  over 700 health-related journals and magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of health care interventions) from around the world. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency

Access: Free Vendor: NCHS
Nursing in Health Sciences SAGE Full-Text Collections Full Text Journals

Full text of SAGE Publishing journals for nursing and related fields. See Health Sciences SAGE Full-Text Collections.

Access: Proxy
PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

 

Last Updated February 09, 2010