University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Social Science Education

Section Headings List

See also: Articles - All Education Topics

Books- Books. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick.

*Best Resources

America: History and Life Citations or Abstracts

History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Historical Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Indexes over 2000 journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present. interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Other Resources

Anthropology Plus 1957-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexing of journals in anthropology and related fields.

Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
Chicano Database 1960-Current Citations or Abstracts

Bibliographic resource for information on Mexican-Americans, Chicano and the broader Latino experience.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Ethnic NewsWatch Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
GenderWatch Citations or Abstracts Full Text

GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
History Resource Center: US Citations or Abstracts Full Text

History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Top-pick International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Books Full Text

Premier encyclopedia for behavioral and social sciences.

Access: Proxy
JSTOR Full Text Journals

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
PAIS International 1972-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Data Full Text Journals

PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Social Sciences Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Social Services Abstracts 1980-Current Citations or Abstracts

Research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Social Work Abstracts 1977-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers social work and related topics such as homelessness, child and family welfare, and aging.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI
WorldCat Citations or Abstracts

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

 

Last Updated July 25, 2008