Business: International Research Guide
indicates Top-pick
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via the
Proxy server.
Related Research Guides
Other guides which may be useful for international business research include:
identifies resources for Industry Overviews, Business Rankings, Industry Classifications,
Statistics, Periodical Articles, Key Periodicals, and Additional Industry Sources
identifies resources about Foreign Countries & Governments, International Organizations,
Databases & Statistics, Immigration, and Treaties & International Agreements
include specific guides for Food & Beverage Industry, Human Resources, Lodging Industry,
Marketing, MICE (Meeting, Incentive, Convention, & Exposition) Industry, Statistics/Demographics,
Theme Park & Attraction Industry, and Travel & Tourism Industries
provides links to some encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources for
which the UCF Libraries provide online access, e.g.: Encyclopedia of Multicultural
Psychology, Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management,
Business German Dictionary, Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political
Economy, Penguin International Dictionary of Finance, Encyclopedia
of the European Union
identifies resources for statistical data, including statistical publications of international
intergovernmental organizations and links to ICPSR and other data sets.
Back to Top
Companies & Industries
Ref HG 2441.R3
"Listings are organized by country, city and title in alphabetical order. The beginning
of each country contains demographic information such as capital city, population, and
political structure, along with industry information such as banking associations and
central banks.... In order to be included in The Bank Directory an office must
perform any one of the following banking activities: accept deposits, lend money, extend
credit, issue currency, or facilitate funds transfers." Listings include: Bank Legal
Title, Institution Charter Type, National Routing Codes, SWIFT BIC Codes, Memberships,
Ownership, Financial Figures, Balance Sheet, Asset Rank, Public Credit Ratings, Management,
International Correspondents, Other Offices, Other Domestic Offices, Other Offices Outside
Head Office Country, Subsidiaries/Affiliates, Directors.
includes information from Encyclopedia of Global Industries, International
Directory of Company Histories, World Market Share Reporter, Major
Companies of the Arab World, Major Companies of South West Asia, etc.
browse for Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, and Market Research Reports from ABS
Energy Research, Datamonitor and Gartner. Includes SWOT Analyses.
Canadian Key Business Directory (D&B)
Ref HF 3223.C24
"contains listings of Canadian businesses with one or more of the following: $5 million
in sales, 50 employees at a single or headquarters location, or 250 employees total.
Public and private schools are excluded." includes Geographic Index and Line of Business
Index by SIC Code
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
Ref HD 2755.5.D57
provides information about American firms which have branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates
outside the United States.
Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
Ref HG 4057.A155
provides information about foreign firms headquartered in other countries which have
subsidiaries and affiliates in the United States that they own, wholly, or in part.
The United States-based locations of each branch, subsidiary or affiliate are listed
along with the parent company locations.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Ref HD 2324.E53
"more than 125 business sectors of global significance.... articles discuss the origins,
development, trends, key statistics, and current international character of the world's...industries--including
hundreds of profiles of leading international corporations."
"Search for details (telephone, fax, email contact, address) of a product supplier or
a service provider in Europe."
International Directory of Company Histories
Ref HD 2721.D36
"Each three- to five-page entry is meticulously detailed with facts gathered from popular
magazines, academic periodicals, books, annual reports and the archives of the companies
themselves. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management
actions, NAIC codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, principal divisions,
principal operating units, principle competitors and other significant milestones --
all peppered with statistics, dates and names of key players."
"With a rich backfile to 1982, search this database to find investment, company and
industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin
America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in
full page PDF image."

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Ref HG4057 .A217
"covers major public and private businesses in the United States and throughout the
world. The principle of organization for the set is geographical (by parent company)
and hierarchical (by company reportage). Subsidiaries of a parent company, no matter
where they are located, will be found in the same volume as the ultimate parent." Volume
2 contains the Geographic Index, Non-U.S. Volumes 7 & 8 list International Public and
Private Companies by name.

MarketLine Business
Information Center (MBIC) - Datamonitor reports
-
Company Information includes SWOT Analysis and links to the profiles of
Top Competitors. Browsing can be refined by industry, geographic region/country,
number of employees, and annual revenue.
-
Industry Profiles provide market size, share, and segmentation data plus
detailed analysis and company information. Browsing can be refined by industry
and by geographic region/country.
(Subscription cancelled due to budget cuts.)
- International Universe = Non-U.S. publicly traded companies
- U.S. Company Universe = Active publicly traded U.S. companies
- Provides financials (15 years), ratios, annual reports, subsidiaries, history,
etc.
- Provides comparison reports against the industry or a custom group of companies,
including calculation of group averages for financials and ratios.
- Index Searches - Argentina (Bolsa, Merval/Burcap), Australia (ASX 200), Belgium
(BEL 20), Brazil (Ibovespa, IBX 50), Canada (TSX 60, TSX Composite, TSX Small
Cap), Denmark (KFX 20), Dow Jones (Global Titans 50, Industrial, Transportation,
Utility), Finland (HEX 25), France (CAC 40, SBF 80), Germany (DAX 30, Prime
Standard Market), Greece (FTSE-ASE 20), Hong Kong (Hang Seng), Hungary (BUX),
Israel (TA 25), Italy (MIB 30), Luxembourg (LUX 10), Mergent Dividend Achiever,
Mexico (IPC), NASDAQ National Market, Netherlands (AEX 25), New York Stock Exchange,
Norway (OSEBX), Peru (IGBVL), Poland (WIG 20), Portugal (PSI 20), Russell 1000,
S&P (1500, 500), South Africa (All Shares, FTSE/JSE Top 40), Spain (IBEX 35),
Sweden (OMX), Switzerland (Swiss Market Index SMI), Turkey (ISE National 30),
UK (FTSE 100, FTSE 250), Venezuela (IBC).
provides market research reports for various industries, including information about
market drivers, size & trends, segmentation, supply structure, advertising & promotion,
and retail distribution. The UCF Library subscription includes the following report
categories:
- Consumer Goods Intelligence: Europe
- Mintel Reports: USA
- Retail Intelligence: International
- Travel & Tourism: International
Principal International Businesses: The World Marketing Directory
(D&B)
Ref HF 54.U5.P74
provides information on approximately 50,000 of the largest employers throughout the
world, listed alphabetically by country and cross referenced alphabetically and by industry
classification.
provides information about global industrial suppliers and products. Browse or search
by product, company name and country/region.
Ref HG 4009.W464 (Australia, Asia, Africa & Middle East)
Ref HG 4081.Z65.W48 (North & South America)
Ref HG 4132.Z5.W52 (Continental Europe)
Ref HG 4135.5.W48 (United Kingdom & Ireland)
includes all corporate groups within the coverage area. "The corporate group may be
a vast multinational with a range of subsidiaries spanning many different countries
and industries, or it may consist of two companies -- a parent and a subsidiary. There
is no size criteria for entry. All corporate groups ... are included regardless of their
sales turnover or number of employees. Companies and organizations are only included
if ownership is greater than 50% by other companies or organizations.... All types of
industry are covered.... Both Public and Private companies are covered along with many
companies owned by official bodies such as governments, nationalized industries and
state holding companies which have subsidiaries, but are not themselves independently
registered."
Back to Top
Countries & Regions
See also Foreign & International Government Information
& Related Resources and Resources for Statistics,
Demographics & Census for other resources about the demographics and cultures of countries,
including links for Country Studies and CIA World Factbook.
browse by country or region to retrieve country reports from Business Monitor, CountryWatch,
Datamonitor, EIU, Global Insight, Going Global, Icon Group, OECD, PRS Group, and Superintendent
of Documents.
- PRS Group International Country Risk Guide (1989+) - for each
of 128 countries "provides a detailed country-by-country breakdown of the comparative
risks of operating in, investing or lending to particular countries using a
three-dimensional evaluation system that weighs the composite risk and identifies
the disaggregated political, financial and economic risks by indicator."
- PRS Group Political Risk Service (1987+) - "presents accurate
and rigorous analysis of present and future political and economic conditions
in the 85 countries most important to international business. The reports are
invaluable in planning for changes in government and essential in making decisions
about upcoming projects. Reports can be used to develop market currency values,
assess political risk insurance and foreign credit risk, capital investment
and corporate security. Reports follow a standardized format:
- Executive summary - includes 18-month and 5-year forecasts based on
political, economic, demographic and social data.
- Background - reviews geographical details, territorial and maritime
disputes, social and economic conditions, power structures and climate
for business.
- Comprehensive forecasts - covers regime stability, political turmoil,
international investment restrictions, trade restrictions and economic
policies."
MarketLine Business Information Center (MBIC)
Back to Top
Statistics & Demographics
Data may also be found in resources listed in other sections on this page.
Industrial Commodity Statistics Yearbook: Production Statistics (United Nations)
Ref HC 59 .P365
provides 10-year annual quantity data on production of industrial commodities by country
and geographic region for about 200 countries and areas.
International Marketing Data & Statistics
Ref HA 42.I56
a compendium of statistical information on the countries of the Americas, Asia, Africa
and Oceania. The companion volume is European Marketing Data and Statistics
[Ref HA 1107.E87]. "The data coverage includes a considerable number of 24-year time
series, which permit the analysis of socio-economic trends over a longer time span as
a basis for forecasting." The subject coverage sections are: Marketing Geography, Advertising,
Agricultural Resources, Automotives & Transport, Banking & Finance, Consumer Expenditure,
Consumer Market Sizes, Consumer Prices & Costs, Cultural Indicators, Economic Indicators,
Energy Resources & Output, Environmental Data, Foreign Trade, Health, Household Profiles,
Income & Deductions, Industrial Markets, IT & Telecommunications, Labour, Literacy &
Education, Population, Possession of Household Durables, Travel & Tourism.

International
Monetary Fund
-
Balance of Payments Statistics (ICPSR) provides access to International
Monetary Fund data from 1965 to 1998. More recent years are available in the
print edition [Ref HF 1014.I5] and on microfiche in the
IIS Collection.
- Country Information
identifies reports and publications by country. See also
Regional Reports.
- Direction
of Trade Statistics (Univ of Virginia) provides access to International
Monetary Fund trade data from 1948 to 1998 by trading partner. More recent years
are available in the print editions of Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook
[Ref HF 91.I65] and Direction of Trade Statistics Quarterly [Ref HF
1016.I652] and on microfiche in the IIS Collection.
- International Financial Statistics Yearbook - available in print from
1979 [Ref HG 3881.I627] and on microfiche in the
IIS Collection. Some data series from
the IMF International Financial Statistics are also accessible in the
United Nations Common Database.
-
LexisNexis Statistical indexes and abstracts various IMF publications, with
the full text of many publications available on microfiche in the
IIS Collection.
- World Economic Outlook
Database provides "time series data for GDP growth, inflation, unemployment,
payments balances, exports, imports, external debt, capital flows, commodity
prices, more. " The
IMF Data Mapper
provides comparisons of GDP, inflation, & current account balance for up to
five selected countries, geographic regions, or analytical groups at a time.
See also print edition [Ref HC 10.W7979].
Ref HC 10.I673
provides "worldwide statistics on current performance and trends in the manufacturing
sector. The Yearbook is designed to facilitate international comparisons relating to
manufacturing activity and industrial development and performance. It provides data
which can be used to analyse patterns of growth and related long term trends, structural
change and industrial performance in individual industries. Statistics on employment
patterns, wages, consumption and gross output and other key indicators are also presented."
provides online access to the CIS Index to International Statistics (IIS) -
indexing and abstracting statistical publications from approximately 100 issuing sources.
The UCF Library has the full text of most reports in print or microfiche formats. Sources
include:
- United Nations main and subsidiary bodies, regional commissions, and affiliated
agencies, e.g.
- Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC/CEPAL)
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- International Trade Center (ITC)
- UN Conference on Trade & Development (UNCTAD)
- World Bank Group
- World Trade Organization (WTO)
- Asian Development Bank (AsDB)
- European Union (EU)
- International Organization for Migration ((IOM)
- Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
- Organization of American States (OAS)
- Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
- World Tourism Organization (WTO)
- and some 30 other international intergovernmental organizations.
LexisNexis Statistical also provides online access to CIS American Statistics Index
- "a comprehensive guide to the statistical publications of the U.S. Government" - and
CIS Statistical Reference Index - "a selective guide to American statistical
publications from private organizations and state government sources". The UCF Library
has the full text of most reports in print or microfiche formats.
See also OECD's
Statistics
Portal for descriptions and links by topic to various resources, and the UCF Library's
subscription to
Source OECD
for full text access to some publications, e.g.,
- OECD Economic Surveys - see also
print versions in the UCF Library
- OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental & Social Statistics [Ref HC
10 .O34]
- OECD Statistics on International Trade in Services
- Structural & Demographic Business Statistics [Ref HC 10 .I614]
provides links to principal U.S. federal statistical agencies and international statistical
agencies from over 130 countries, e.g.,
Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
Ref HA 12.5 .U63
"The 76 tables of the Yearbook are organized in four parts. The first part presents
key world and regional aggregates and totals. In the other three parts, the subject
matter is generally presented by countries or areas, with world and regional aggregates
shown in some cases only. Parts two, three and four cover, respectively, population
& social topics, national economic activity and international economic relations."
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean (United Nations, Economic Commission
for Latin America and the Caribbean)
Ref HA 931.A58
provides social, economic and environmental statistics

Statistics Sources: A
Subject Guide to Data on Industrial, Business, Social, Educational, Financial, and Other
Topics for the United States and Internationally
Ask at the Reference Desk - Ref HA 36.S84
"Two types of key statistical sources are cited in listings for countries (as applicable
and available) and precede the alphabetical list of specific subjects for the country.
The first is the National Statistical Office, if the country has such an office. This
is followed by a reference to the major printed sources for the country, termed the
Primary Statistics Source of Sources. These sources should be consulted by users seeking
more in-depth data, particularly for technical and commercial activities in countries
other than the U.S. and Canada."
"a database comprised of tabular information of a strategic nature...such as: market
share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand
rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the
more than 1000 sources that go into the
Business
& Industry database and from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association
reports, and governmental reports."
Ref HC 59.15.W656
Online version provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with
time series for 210 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, where data are
available. Time series topic groups include balance of payments, development framework,
environment, exchange rates & prices, external debt, financial statistics, government
finance, national accounts, social indicators, and trade.
World Economic Factbook (Euromonitor)
Ref HC 59.15.W67
"The [204] individual country sections have been designed in order to allow the compilation
of a series of unique rankings, showing the relative position for each country measured
by a variety of criteria, such as geographic area, population, inflation, GDP, and so
on."
Back to Top
Financial Markets
includes treatises (1 - Capital Markets Handbook; 2 - U.S. Regulation of the International
Securities & Derivatives Markets), biweekly updates of International Securities & Financial
Reporting, and primary material for individual countries regarding laws & regulations.
CRB Commodity Yearbook (Commodity Research Bureau)
Ref HC 14.C6
- "Worldwide supply/demand and production/consumption data for all the basic commodities
and futures markets–from A(luminum) to Z(inc), including all the major markets
in interest rates, currencies, energy, grains and stock index futures
- Over 900 tables, graphs and price charts of historical data, many of which show
price history dating back to 1900"
Handbook of World Stock and Commodity Exchanges
Ref HG 4551.H319 1994
Although dated, the information for exchanges in each country includes a brief history
of the exchange, its structure, and its trading system
International Encyclopedia of the Stock Market
Ref HG 4551.I57 1999
includes definitions of stock market terms, people, countries, events, etc. Stock exchanges
are listed as part of the entry on the country in which the exchange is located.
International Securities Regulation: Stock Exchanges of
the World
Ref K 1331.I559
Looseleaf updates. Separate pamphlets for each exchange providing selected rules and
regulations
- Annual Statistics provide "an overview of the various market segments from the
Share and Debt markets to the Parallel, 'New' markets, as well as the Derivatives
markets. A series of ratios (PER, Dividend yield, total return, % of market
capitalization compared with GDP, etc…) are also presented, allowing for a more
detailed approach of markets. Finally, a section describes the evolution of
the main market data for emerging markets."
- Monthly Statistics "present for each month of the year the price index levels
at month-end, the share and bond turnovers in value, the market capitalization,
the number of listed companies, as well as volatility and turnover ratios."
- Time Series "present since 1990 the above indicators in addition to the market
capitalization of bonds, the PER and dividend yield ratios."
Back to Top
International Trade: Importing & Exporting
- GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities)
- NTDB (National Trade Data Bank)
- Country Commercial Guides
- Market Research Reports
- Non-port data reports
- Standard Reports - Imports/Exports (monthly, annual, cumulative YTD)
- Trade by Commodity - Imports/Exports
- Commodity Market Ranking - Imports/Exports
- Port-level detail
- Commodity Profile - Imports/Exports
- Commodity Time Series - Imports/Exports
- Country by Commodity - Imports/Exports
- Port-level - Imports/Exports (monthly, annual, cumulative YTD)
- Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE)
- Digital Library of UNCTAD Resources (United Nations Conference on Trade & Development)
Back to Top
International Trade: Print Directories
Country Trade Sourcebook (Official Export Guide)
Ref HF 1416.5.C6
- World Maps - maps of major geographic regions including every country within
a region and its international calling code
- Promising Exports: What & Where - a quick-reference chart that pinpoints what
commodities are in demand in a variety of countries
- Country Profiles - section for every country in the world, summarizing the best
export opportunities, trade data, entry data, necessary documentation, marketing
& sales channels, trade finance, investment, key contacts, shipping information
and general data about that country
- United States - profiles of major U.S. ports, including descriptions of airport
& seaport facilities and indexes of those providing international trade services
- Foreign Trade Zones - Listings, by state, of all FTZs currently in operation
in the United States
Directory of United States Exporters
Ref HF 3011.D63
- Company Listings by State - each listing includes: company name, address, phone
number, fax number, TEUs, metric tonnage, estimated annual dollar value of its
shipments, port(s) of exit, and products exported.
- Alphabetical Company Index - with their state location
- Alphabetical Product Index - with their Harmonized Commodity Code
- Numerical Product Index - Harmonized Commodity Code listing all known exporters
for each product
- SIC Code Indexes - alphabetical and numerical listings of line-of-business information
based upon the U.S. Government Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code.
Directory of United States Importers
Ref HF 3012.D54
- Company Listings by State - each listing includes: company name, address, phone
number, fax number, TEUs, metric tonnage, estimated annual dollar value of its
shipments, port(s) of entry, and products imported.
- Alphabetical Company Index - with their state location
- Alphabetical Product Index - with their Harmonized Commodity Code
- Numerical Product Index - Harmonized Commodity Code listing all known importers
for each product
- SIC Code Indexes - alphabetical and numerical listings of line-of-business information
based upon the U.S. Government Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code.
Ref HF 3011.E9
- The Export Decision - Getting Started, Finding Your Target Market, Executing
the Transaction, Checklist of Documents Used in International Trade, Samples
of Export Documents, Glossary
- Export Markets - Regional Maps & Flags of the World, Export Markets (arranged
alphabetically)
- Export Know-How - General Export Information, Export & Shipping Practice
- International Communications - Radio & Cable Summaries, Fax, International Mail,
U.S. Territories/Selected Postal Data, International Postal Service Chart, Time
Zones Map
- Information Sources/Services - Government Assistance to Exporters, Associations
Fostering Trade, World Trade Centers, Treaty & Multinational Organizations
- Transportation Data/Services - United States Ports, U.S. Customs Ports of Entry,
U.S. Foreign Trade Zones
Back to Top
STAT-USA
See also STAT-USA: State of the Nation.

STAT-USA
Ask at the UCF Library Reference Desk to be
logged
in (in-library use only). (Campus-wide subscription cancelled due to budget
cuts.)
- GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) "offers daily trade
leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department
of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense
Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads."
- NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) "provides access to Country
Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other
programs. The International Trade Library is a comprehensive collection
of over 40,000 documents related to international trade. All are full text
searchable, as well as keyword searchable by country or product."
Market Research Library provides access to some of the reports available in
STAT-USA:
- Country Commercial Guides "profile the political,
economic, and commercial environment of foreign countries. More specifically,
CCGs look at market conditions, economic situations, political environment,
best export sectors, trade regulations, investment incentives, finance techniques,
upcoming trade events, marketing strategies, services for exporters, and
business travel tips for nearly 150 countries."
- Market Research Reports cover "a wide range of
information needed by exporters, including – best-selling markets, market
access, top imports, demographic information, trade barriers, market size,
market characteristics, competitive analysis, market outlook, economic trends,
trade events, government regulations, and in-country trade contracts." -
includes Industry Sector Analysis Reports and International Market Insight
Reports (requires free student/researcher registration
for access to Market Research Reports)
Back to Top
USA Trade Online
Ask at the UCF Library Reference Desk to be
logged
in (in-library use only).
"provides current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000
export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide... with annual data from
1992 and monthly data from 2002."
Non-port data reports provide commodity detail up to the 10-digit
Harmonized System level.
- Standard Report – Monthly Imports/Exports -- "View the
value and quantity for a commodity (or commodities) for the five most current
months. The results can be sorted by value (as well as by quantity at the
ten-digit level) and regenerated by commodity, country, customs district
area, measure, and/or time options"
- Standard Report – Annual Imports/Exports -- "View the value
and quantity for a commodity (or commodities) for the four most current
years and current YTD. The results can be sorted by value (as well as by
quantity at the ten-digit level) and regenerated by commodity, country,
customs district area, measure, and/or time options"
- Standard Report – Cumulative YTD Imports/Exports -- "View
the value and quantity for a commodity (or commodities) for the most recent
YTD aggregation and the three prior years' YTD aggregations, as well as
the growth rate between the oldest and newest YTD totals. The results can
be sorted by value (as well as by quantity at the ten-digit level) and regenerated
by commodity, country, customs district area, measure, and/or time options"
- Trade by Commodity – Imports/Exports -- "Use this report
to show U.S. imports or exports of any of the over 18,000 commodities over
time in a specific market. In the default view, you will view the value,
quantity, and unit price for all commodities in all markets for the most
recent and previous month, current and previous year's YTD aggregates, and
four previous years (current year is excluded), as well as comparable month,
comparable YTD, and four-year percent changes. The results can be regenerated
by commodity, country, customs district area, measure, and/or time options"
- Commodity Market Ranking – Imports/Exports -- "This popular
report is used to determine the top markets for a commodity. You choose
the commodity (or commodities) you want to analyze and the system returns
values in the current month in this and the previous year (with a percentage
change between them), the current and previous year's YTD aggregates (with
a percentage change between them), and four previous years (current year
is excluded). You can also use the Selection Criteria and Report Features
to further specify the information you need."
Port-level detail is only available up to the 6-digit Harmonized
System level. Note that port-level data only goes back to 2003.
- Commodity Profile – Imports/Exports -- "View the value,
quantity, and unit price of a particular commodity (or commodities) by country
for the most recent month, current YTD, and previous YTD. The results are
automatically sorted in descending order by value for the most recent month,
but can easily be sorted by the various time periods or growth rates available.
Note: Quantity and unit price detail are only available at the ten-digit
HS level."
- Commodity Time Series – Imports/Exports -- "This report
provides a four-year annual history of the value, quantity, and unit price
for a commodity (or commodities) by country. The results are automatically
sorted in descending order by value for the previous year, but can easily
be sorted by any of the three previous years. Note: Quantity and unit price
detail are only available at the ten-digit HS level."
- Country by Commodity – Imports/Exports -- "Used to analyze
value changes over time of a specific commodity and country. The results
can be sorted by value and quantity for the most current month, cumulative
data for the current calendar year, and cumulative data for the previous
year’s corresponding timeframe."
- Monthly Port-level -- Imports/Exports -- "View the value
and shipping weight for a commodity (or commodities) for the five most current
months at the port level. The results can be sorted by value or shipping
weight and regenerated by commodity, country, port, measure, and/or time
options"
- Annual Port-level -- Imports/Exports -- "View the value
and shipping weight for a commodity (or commodities) for the (eventually)
four most current years and current YTD at the port level. The results can
be sorted by value or shipping weight and regenerated by commodity, country,
port, measure, and/or time options"
- Cumulative YTD Port-level -- Imports/Exports -- "View the
value and shipping weight for a commodity (or commodities) for the most
recent YTD aggregation and the (eventually) three prior years' YTD aggregations,
as well as the growth rate between the oldest and newest YTD totals. The
results can be sorted by value or shipping weight and regenerated by commodity,
country, port, measure, and/or time options"
Back to Top
International Trade: United Nations
provides commodity trade data for all available countries and areas since 1962.
See also the print publications:
- International Trade Statistics Yearbook [Ref HF 91.U473]
- World Trade Annual [Ref HF53.W6]
- Supplement to the World Trade Annual: Trade of the Industrialized Nations
with Eastern Europe, the former USSR and the Developing Nations [Ref
HF53.W6 Suppl.]
Back to Top
International Trade: Other Resources
provides resources and statistics, including classification codes, country/product
trade data, state export data, and historical series.
Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States
Online version
U.S. Documents ITC 1.10: (shelved in GovDocs Ready Reference)
provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade with
over 200 countries.
displays the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics. The National Trade
Data are available for 1989 through 2006 for individual countries, trade/economic
groups, or geographic regions. The State Export Data are available for 1999 through
2006 for individual states or U.S. regions.
"located in major metropolitan areas throughout the United States, are one-stop
shops ready to provide your small- or medium-sized business with local export assistance."
provides the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States and the USITC Tariff
& Trade DataWeb with direct access to trade data (requires free registration).
provides access to trade agreements and other trade policy reports.
provides more than 8,000 annotated links to International Trade / Import-Export
Web sites.
World Trade Organization & GATT
- Documents Online: 1995- provides
access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization, including
the legal texts of the WTO agreements.
- GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994
provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement
on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), an organization that promoted international
commerce and the reduction of trade barriers among member states from 1947-1994.
-
GATT Panel & World Trade Decisions provides selected full text from
August 1948 through current.
-
World Trade Organization Dispute Settlement contains
the "caselaw" of the WTO---the trade decisions or
"dispute settlement reports" from 1996 through current.
- WTO & GATT Research
(New York University School of Law) lists the essential sources for researching
the current WTO system and the predecessor system under the 1947 General
Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT 1947). The UCF Library may not have
direct access to all of the resources listed.
Back to Top
Periodical Articles
Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about specific topics.
Some other business databases
are also available. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will
need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine
if we own the periodicals you need.
- Archive (1905-1985) - "Deep backfiles encompass full runs of some of the
most important business journals of the last century, all in cover-to-cover
full page images, just as they were printed."
- Global (1971- ) - "Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for
in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques,
theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human
resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international
coverage."
Accounting & Tax Index (1912+)
Index HF 5601 .A4472
"provides citations to articles about virtually every aspect of accounting and taxation.
Related subjects include financial management, compensation, consulting, and the
financial-services industry. More than 1,000 publications are scanned for relevant
citations.... Many subject headings are further divided by state or country to allow
the user quick access to the articles specific to a certain geographic area."
"a broad-based business information database that focuses on facts, figures, events
and market information about companies, industries, products and markets. It covers
all industries and is international in scope. B&I draws content from over 1000 trade
and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business
dailies and newsletters." See also
TableBase.
Provides indexing to sources in business, management, economics, finance, banking,
investment, and much more. Provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including
full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
provides citations, abstracts and links to full text articles "in all fields of
economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting,
environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory,
urban economics and much more."
provides access to 160 full text journals and reviews from the top 300 management
journals.
Use the Sources tab to filter the publications to be searched by
country or region of the world.
- News sources include aggregate news sources, blogs, industry trade press,
magazines & journals, news transcripts, newsletters, newspapers, newswires
& press releases, etc.
- "Full-text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world,
many same day of publication"
- "More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, including:
American Journalism Review, Business Week, The Economist, Library Journal,
New Republic, Newsweek, and Variety"
- "Wire services, updated several times a day, including respected names such
as the Associated Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire"
- "Non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German,
Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines"
PAIS International
Index H 1 .P8 (1915+)
indexes "journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories,
grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international
agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are
not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout
the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in
French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish."
Cumulative Subject Index to the Public Affairs Information Service Annual Bulletins,
1915-1974
Index H 1 .P78
provides access to over 160 full text journals in business, management, accounting,
economics, econometrics, and finance.
Wilson Business Full Text
Index HF 5001 .B86 (1958+) - Business Periodicals Index
provides abstracting and indexing of more than 850 magazines and scholarly journals.
Topics include Accounting, Acquisitions & Mergers, Advertising, Banking, Building
& Construction, Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals, Communications, Computers, Cosmetics
Industry, Economics, Electronics, Entertainment Industry, Finance, Financial Services,
Government Regulations, Health Care, High Technology, Hospitality and Tourism, Human
Resources, Industrial Relations, Insurance, International Business, Investments,
Management, Marketing, Mass Media, Occupational Health & Safety, Oil & Gas, Paper
& Pulp Industries, Public Utilities, Publishing, Purchasing, Real Estate, Retail
Trade, Small Business, Taxation, Technology, and Transportation.
Back to Top
Key Periodicals
The following selected periodicals are some of those covering international business
topics. Please note, however, that many other periodicals not listed here will contain articles
about some aspect of international business; thus, the need to consult a
periodical database or
index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Libraries subscribe are arranged
by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by
call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.
Economist
Microfilm HG 11 .E2 (1843-1892)
General Collection HG 11 .E2 (1893-1986; 2004+)
Microfiche HG 11 .E2 (1986-2003)
Weekly news magazine covering world leaders, United States, The Americas, Asia,
Middle East & Africa, Europe, Britain, International, global business, finance &
economics, science & technology, and books & arts.
Euromoney
General Collection HG 3881 .E665 (1985; 2004+)
Microfilm HG 3881 .E665 (1986-2003)
Monthly news magazine covering international banking and capital markets.
Far Eastern Economic Review
Microfiche HC 411 .F18 (1992-2004)
General Collection HC 411 .F18 (2004+)
Monthly (except Feb & Aug) opinion journal which "provides an Asia-focused forum
for independent thought on the trends in economy, politics and society that impact
the region." The
Review Archives
can be used to identify articles 1946+, the full text of which may be obtained through
Interlibrary Loan.
Financial Times
"A daily international newspaper and web site providing extensive news, comment
and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives in global business."
The
online index can be used to identify articles 1988-1994, the full text of which
may be obtained through
Interlibrary Loan.
Journal of World Business
General Collection HF 5001 .C64 (1965-2004)
Quarterly journal covering "problems facing the global manager in four areas: human
resource management, leadership, marketing, and strategic management."
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations)
General Collection HC 10 .U558 (1947-1959; 1970-2006)
Microfilm HC 10 .U558 (1960-69)
"presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and
territories of the world. It contains over 50 tables of monthly and/or annual and
quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and
developments, including population, prices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing,
transport, construction, international merchandise trade and finance."
OECD Economic Outlook
General Collection HC 241.2 .O7 (1969+)
"the OECD's twice-yearly assessment of the economy. Released in May and November
of each year, it comprises a general assessment, written by the OECD's Chief Economist,
a series of short, concise reviews on each member country, some reviews on key non-member
economies, a set of thematic chapters focusing on topical economic issues, and a
renowned statistical annex."
OECD Observer
Newspaper Microfilm (1925+)
Monthly magazine "presents concise, up-to-date and authoritative analysis of world
economic, social and environmental issues."
Wall Street Journal
Newspaper Microfilm (1958+)
The U.S. financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and
international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.
Wall Street Journal Index
Index HG 1 .W26 (1958+)
Issued in two parts: corporate news and general news. The annual cumulation of the
general news section also includes lists of the daily Dow Jones averages for the
year.
World Bank Research Observer
General Collection HD 72 .W67 (1986-1987; 1990+)
"seeks to inform non-specialist readers about research being undertaken within the
Bank and outside the Bank in areas of economics relevant for development policy.
Requiring only a minimal background in economic analysis, its surveys and overviews
of key issues in development economics research are intended for policymakers, project
officers, journalists keeping up to date, and teachers and students of development
economics and related disciplines."
Back to Top
Additional Sources
Dictionary of International Business Terms
REF HD 62.4.S54 1998
"In addition to over 2,000 terms defined with examples, charts, and illustrations,
key areas covered include: Global accounting and taxation -- Exports and imports
-- Global trade, laws and regulations -- International organizations"
International Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
REF HF 54.5.P33 1998
"guides business researchers and librarians to the most valuable sources for information
on international business and shows how to interpret and use the data provided.
The authors also describe business practices in various regions and countries, the
basics of international trade and finance, international business organizations,
and relevant political departments and agencies."
"A rich collection of thousands of resources selected based on content and usability.
This section also includes... proprietary Market Potential Indicators and the Database
of International Business Statistics."
"is intended to provide a database of international business
theories and how they apply to trading nations. Much of the
content here is produced by university students for various
class requirements."
International Government Information and Country Information: A Subject Guide
REF ZA 5050.M67 2004
"Each chapter provides descriptions of Web sites, books, reports, and other important
materials, and concludes with research strategies and tips on the most efficient
ways to search for certain types of information."
provides over 3,000 links to Internet sources of international business and economic
information that are in English and available free of charge.
World Chamber of Commerce Directory
REF HF 294.W6
- American Chambers of Commerce Abroad
- Foreign Tourist Information Bureaus
- Foreign & Ethnic Chambers of Commerce in the United States
- Foreign Chambers of Commerce
Back to Top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask
a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the
Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated (RG):
August 14, 2009