University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Citing Print Resources Using APA

If you have questions, contact:
Melinda Gottesman
407-823-5308
If you have questions, contact:
Renee Montgomery
407-823-4658

The following Works Cited/Bibliography examples are only guidelines

Not all of your sources will fit the following; therefore, you may need to consult the APA Manual available at the Cornerstone Area beside the Reference Desk. If you have questions about how to cite sources, feel free to ask a Reference Librarian or your instructor.

Where will I cite my sources in my paper?

You will need to cite your sources in two places—within your paper as an in-text or parenthetical citation and at the end of your paper in a Bibliography or Works Cited list.

In-text Citation Examples:

Typically, in-text citations will include an author(s) last name and the publication date of the material (Smith, 2001)

Examples of Common Citations

Books

Articles in Newspapers, Magazines and Journals

Books

What you Need:

  1. Author(s)
  2. Title
  3. Publication Information (city of publication, publisher, and date)

Things to Remember:

  1. You need to include any edition statement - i.e. if the book is a 2nd edition, Revised Edition, North American edition, etc.
  2. For multiple authors, use the symbol '&' instead of the word 'and'
  3. All lines after the first are indented.
Books by a Single Author:

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

Springer, S. P. & Deutsch, G. (1985). Left brain, right brain (Rev. ed.). New York: W. H. Freeman.

*note* In this example, the book is a Revised Edition (Rev. ed.), and was published in New York by the publisher W.H. Freeman.

Brand, M. & Harnish, R. M. (Eds.). (1986). The representation of knowledge and belief. Tuscon, AZ: University of Arizona Press.

*note* In this example, the book is an edited volume with two editors (Eds.).

An Anthology/Edited Book:

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

Brand, M. & Harnish, R. M. (Eds.). (1986). The representation of knowledge and belief. Tuscon, AZ: University of Arizona Press.

*note* The (Eds.) stands for Editors.

An Anonymous Book:

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

The American heritage dictionary (2nd college ed.). (1991). Boston: Houghton Mifflin.

A Chapter in an Anthology:

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

Nadel, L., & Zola-Morgan, S. (1984). Infantile amnesia: A neurobiological perspective. In M. Moscovitch (Ed.), Infant Memory (pp.145-172). New York: Plenum

*note* In the case, The information for the chapter in question are placed first (the chapter's author/year/title) followed by the information on the volume itself. The editor of the volume is placed in non-inverted form, (M. Moscovitch as opposed to Moscovitch, M.) followed by the title of the book, the pages of the cited chapter, and the publication information.

Articles in Newspapers, Magazines and Journals:

What you need:

  1. Author(s)
  2. Year of Publication
  3. Title of Article
  4. Publication Information (Title of Periodical/Journal, Volume, and Page Numbers)
Newspaper Article:

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

Wheeler, D. L. (1987, May 20). Artifical-Intelligence Researchers Develop Electronic 'Tutors' to Aid Learning Process. Chronicle of Higher Education, 6-8.

Magazine Articles:

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

Steinberg, J. A. (1991, March). Putting your business on the map. MacUser, 7, 158-163, 166-167.

Scholarly Journal Articles:

There are two kinds of journals - those that have continous pagination (volume 1, issue 1 goes from page 1-200, volume 1, issue 2 is from page 201-300, etc.), and those that paginate each issue seperately. Below are citation examples for each case.

Works Cited/Bibliography Format:

Loftus, E. F. (1993). The reality of repressed memories. American Psychologist, 48, 518-537.

*note* - American Psychologist utilizes continous pagination . Therefore you do not need to cite the issue number.

Hubel, D. H. & Wiesel, T. N. (1979). Brain mechanisms of vision. Scientific American, 241(3), 150-164.

*note* - Scientific American paginates each issue seperately - thus the issue number must be noted. In this case the article can be found in Volume 241, Issue 3.

This page is adapted from a guide by the Writing Tutorial Services Center at Indiana University.

Need More Help?

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

 The University Writing Center is another available resource for help with proper citation as well as any other writing related questions.

 Also, feel free to schedule a Research Consultation for a one-on-one meeting with a librarian for additional help with your research needs.

 

Last Updated: May 27, 2008