University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Communications Research Guide

Top-pick indicates key source Full Textindicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Proxy connection

Books and Multimedia

http://library.ucf.edu

Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.

  • Mencken H L
  • Murdoch Rupert
  • Advertising
  • Communication--Cross-cultural studies
  • Communication--Political aspects
  • Communication and culture
  • Information theory
  • Internet
  • Interpersonal communication
  • Journalism
  • Mass media
  • Nonverbal communication
  • Persuasion (Psychology)
  • Propaganda
  • Public opinion
  • Public relations
  • Radio broadcasting
  • Television broadcasting
  • Violence in mass media

Periodical Articles

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about communication topics. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.

Contains many full-text magazine and journal articles on topics relating to business and management topics. Good source for articles on organizational and business communication and on the mass media industry.
Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 scholarly journals, and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals. A number of communication journals are covered.
Indexes and abstracts over 1,500 publications in business, economics, management, and related areas. Full text for many articles published since 1990.
Communication Abstracts
Index HM 258 .C64 (1978+)
Provides comprehensive coverage of communication-related information published in articles, books, and reports, covering such broad topics as communications processes, interpersonal communications, public relations, advertising, journalism and news media, and communications theory and research.
Offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Full TextLexisNexis Academic (coverage varies)
An excellent source for full-text newspapers, press releases, and business publications.
Full TextLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index P 1 .L364 (1967+)
Provides citations to scholarly journal articles on a wide range of communication topics, such as interpersonal behavior and communication and nonverbal communication.
Full TextMLA International Bibliography
Index PB 6 .M6222 (1970+)
General Collection PB 6 .M6 (1921-69, bound with PMLA)
Includes bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, proceedings, and bibliographies. Useful for research in communication theory and rhetoric.
PsycINFO(1887+)
Major source for abstracts of psychology literature. Useful for coverage of topics related to interpersonal, small group, and organizational communication, nonverbal communication, mass media uses and effects, language, and linguistics.
Contains peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE Publications in several fields, including communication studies. Currently there are 16 titles dealing with such topics as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, media studies, organizational communication, rhetoric, and literacy.
Sociological Abstracts
Index HM 1 .S67 (1953+)

Abstracts journal articles, books, and book chapters in sociology and related disciplines. Communication-related coverage includes interpersonal, small group, and organizational communication, and mass media and society.

Key Journals

The following selected periodicals are devoted exclusively to communication topics. Please note, however, that many other periodicals not listed here will contain pertinent articles; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

Full TextAdvertising Age
Microfilm HF 5801 .A276 (1930-87)
Microfiche HF 5801 .A276 (1988+)
This weekly trade publication contains enormous amounts of fascinating and useful data, with feature articles on people, issues, advertising agencies, and ad campaigns.
Full TextAmerican Journalism Review: AJR
Online version (1993+)
General Collection PN 4700 .W38 (1993-2007/2008)
Contains news items, profiles on journalists, and articles on how contemporary issues are reported.
Full TextBroadcasting & Cable
Microfiche TK 6540 .B85 (1993+)
The emphasis of this industry publication is on corporate activity and the changing state of governmental regulation as it concerns television, cable, radio, and other forms of electronic mass communication.
Full TextColumbia Journalism Review
Microfilm PN 4700 .C64 (1962/63-69/71)
General Collection PN 4700 .C64 (1969/71-1999/2000; 2002/03-2007)
Feature stories cover a wide range of topics relating to news gathering and reporting. The "Darts and Laurels" section critiques local, national, and international journalism.
Communication Arts
General Collection NC 997 .A1 C2 (1972/73+)
A trade publication for commercial artists, with articles on design issues, copyright and legal issues, and new graphic arts technology.
Full TextCommunication Quarterly
Microfilm PN 4071 .T61 (1976-2002)
General Collection PN 4071 .T61 (1999-2006)

Contains scholarly research covering communication in the broadest sense; recent issues have included articles on avoidance in friendships, UFO beliefs and rumors, and television news.

Critical Studies in Media Communication: CSMC
General Collection P 87 .C73 (2000+)
A publication of the National Communication Association, this periodical offers articles that take an interpretive approach to mass communications theory and research. Topics include mass-media criticism, mass communication organizations, and the relationship between culture and the mass media.
Full TextEditor & Publisher
Microfilm PN 4700 .E4 (1901-67)
General Collection PN 4700 .E4 (1968-82)
Microfiche PN 4700 .E4 (1983-2007)
Also known as E&P, covers all aspects of the newspaper business. Regular sections are devoted to syndicates and news services, technological developments, and marketing and sales.
Full TextHarvard International Journal of Press/Politics
General Collection PN 4751 .H37 (1996-2004)
Produced by the Kennedy School of Government, this journal focuses on the interaction of the press, politics, and public policymaking, and is targeted at researchers and practitioners in the fields of journalism and broadcasting.
Full TextJournal of Advertising
Online version (1972-1985)
Microfilm HF 5801 .J59 (1972-2002)
General Collection HF 5801 .J59 (1979-82;1995;2003-04)
A scholarly journal, with recent articles on music and lyrics in commercials and children and advertising.
Full TextJournal of Advertising Research
General Collection HF 5801 .J6 (1960-81; 2004-07)
Microfilm HF 5801 .J6 (1982-2002)
While scholarly in nature, this journal's editorial board includes both academicians and professionals in the field.
Full TextJournal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Microfilm PN 1991 .J6 (1985-89)
General Collection PN 1991 .J6 (1990-2006)
Articles in recent issues have dealt with the use of the Internet by political campaigns, gender-differentiated production features in toy commercials, and the impact of motivation and parasocial interaction on talk radio listening.
Full TextJournal of Communication
General Collection P 90 .J6 (1990-2006)
Microfilm P 90 .J6 (1985-89)
An interdisciplinary journal, published by the International Communication Association, concentrating on communication theory and research. Recent issues have included scholarly articles on country music videos, public opinion polling, body image and personal interaction, and broadcast deregulation.
Full TextJournal of Mass Media Ethics: MME
General Collection P 94 .J68 (1990-2004)
A quarterly scholarly journal exploring the ethical and moral issues in the field of mass communication.
Full TextJournal of Popular Film and Television
General Collection PN 1993 .J66 (1978/80-2007)
Articles concentrate on commercial television and film: stars, directors, producers, studios, networks, genres, audience, etc.
Full TextThe News Media & the Law
General Collection KF 2750 .A15 N48 (1986+)

Aims to keep reporters and editors abreast of the latest changes in case law and legislation dealing with press freedoms, rights, and responsibilities.

News Photographer
General Collection TR 820 .N48 (1979-84; 1986+)
Published by the National Press Photographers Association, this magazine features articles on professional issues, profiles of individual photographers, and photos of the month.
Full TextNewspaper Research Journal
General Collection PN 4700 .N525 (1985+)
According to this journal, its purpose is "to provide a bridge between journalism scholars and newspaper professionals and a forum for practical research on and discussion of issues of interest to both."
Full TextNieman Reports
General Collection PN 4700 .N57 (1971-2007)
Articles in this journal consider the wider economic, political, social, and technological issues affecting the American press.
Full TextQuarterly Journal of Speech
Online version (1928+ except last 12 months)
General Collection PN 4071 .Q3 (1928+)
Publishes scholarly articles on rhetoric, especially those that aid understanding of discourse practices.
Television Quarterly
Microfilm PN 1992 .T45 (1962-66)
General Collection PN 1992 .T45 (1967-78; 1979-2007)
A publication of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, with two- to six-page articles on such topics as prime time's disabled images, TV and politics, and the commercialization of public broadcasting.
Full TextVariety
Online version (1999-2007)
Microfilm PN 2000 .V3 (1964+)
Contains extensive information on the entertainment business, especially film, television, and theatre. Many reviews of theatre, film, and television.
Full TextWestern Journal of Communication
General Collection PN 4071 .W45 (1977+)
Publishes scholarly articles in all areas of communication--rhetorical and communication theory, interpersonal communication, public address, group communication, and free speech.

Definitions and Summaries

Sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are good starting points for obtaining basic information about issues, events, and concepts in the field of communication.

Top-pickInternational Encyclopedia of Communications
Reference P 87.5 .I5 1989

A good starting point for introductions to a broad range of topics in communication.

Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media law
Reference PN 4783 .A83

An essential tool for all journalists, news editors, and public relations specialists, providing guidelines on spelling, capitalization, grammar, punctuation, and usage, with special sections on business and sports. Included is a section on media law, with practical guidelines on libel law, privacy, copyright and access to places of information.

The Communication Handbook: A Dictionary
General Collection P 87.5 .D46

Briefly defines more than 2,000 terms related to communication theory and practical communication activities such as public speaking.

Encyclopedia of American Journalism
Reference PN 4728 .P35

Attempts to cover all aspects of the field: history of journalism, types of media, the news-gathering process, people, organizations, styles, court cases.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age
Reference PN 172 .E53 1996

Provides descriptions, essays, and articles on the major periods, peoples, concepts, and applications related to rhetoric and composition. Useful for historical explanations of rhetorical concepts.

Encyclopedia of Television, 2d. ed.
Reference PN 1992.18 .E53 2004
A three-volume set with about 1,000 signed, lengthy essays on programs, people, and general subjects. While the emphasis is on American, British, Canadian, and Australian topics, there are entries offering historical and descriptive discussions of television in other countries and regions around the world.
Facts on File Dictionary of Television, Cable, and Video
Reference PN 1992.18 .R44 1994

Contains approximately 3,000 entries on companies, organizations, awards, and advertising and technical terms.

The Froelich/Kent Encyclopedia of Telecommunications
Reference TK 5102 .E646

The principle focus of this 18-volume set is the technical and scientific basis of telecommunications, although it also has articles on the social and legal issues in the field.

History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Reference and General Collection P 92 .U5 H55 1998

Examines the growth, development, and societal effects of media, covering prominent events, organizations, technology, and persons.

International Dictionary of Broadcasting and Film
Reference PN 1990.4 .B64 2000

Lesly's Handbook of Public Relations and Communications
General Collection HM 263 .L472 1998

Defines and describes public relations activities and techniques in short articles.

Contains over 20,000 descriptive definitions of the vocabulary used in radio, television, cable, film, newspapers, magazines, book publishing, direct mail, outdoor advertising, and other subjects related to the mass media.

Top-pickWebster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications
Reference P 87.5 .W45

Covers technical and historical terms, jargon, and slang used in broadcasting, film, marketing, journalism, film, book publishing, graphic arts, advertising, printing, and other areas of media. Also a good source for explanations of abbreviations, associations, and prominent company names related to media and communication.

Industry Information

Use the sources listed here to find statistics, addresses, industry overviews, and information about individual media companies.

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Reference TK 6540 .B852

A comprehensive listing of American television and radio stations and cable systems, satellite and other carriers, technological and programming services, brokers and professional services. Includes radio and television market statistics. See also Television & Cable Factbook (below).

Editor & Publisher International Yearbook
Reference PN 4700 .E4

Important source for newspaper industry facts and statistics. In addition to address and telephone numbers, main entries include information on circulation, price, advertising, special editions, equipment, and key personnel. Also includes listings for the 100 top daily newspapers and the top pay scales for reporters, and a directory of newspaper industry professionals.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide
General Collection 5905 .E38

Offers individual market surveys of some 1,500 United States and Canadian cities where a daily newspaper is published.

Florida News Media Directory
Reference P 88.8 .D33

Lists news agencies throughout the state.

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Reference PN 4867 .G3

Includes entries for newspapers, magazines, journals, and other periodicals, as well as radio, television, and cable stations and systems in the United States and Canada, and industry statistics and maps.

An electronic database providing directory information, brief histories, and financials on companies, industries, and products, as well as business news. Can be searched by industry (e.g., advertising, TV and radio).

International Television & Video Almanac
Reference PN 1992.15 .I61
Contains a year-in-review section, industry statistics, awards, directory of services, companies and personnel, producers and distributors. Large part of the volume is devoted to brief biographies of those in the entertainment industry. Some coverage of world markets.
The Mass Media: Aspen Institute Guide to Communication Industry Trends
General Collection  P 92 .U5 S68

A compendium of more than 300 statistical tables describing communications trends in the U.S. from 1900 to the late 1970s. Organized by such broad subjects as growth, ownership, economics, employment, contents trends, and audiences.

O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms
General Collection HM 263 .O37

Lists over 2,000 public relations firms and departments of advertising agencies, ranked by city and region according to sales, number of employees, and areas of specialization.

Snapshots
Reference Business Cornerstone HF 5826.5 .S65

For major Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs), gives demographic, retail, spending, consumer brand/category, and audience data, along with audience or circulation statistics for television and radio stations, cable stations and systems, newspapers, magazines, outdoor advertising companies, and software and Internet companies within that MSA.

Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies
Reference HF 5805 .S72

Lists approximately 10,000 advertising agencies in the U.S. and other countries, arranged by type of agency. Lists major clients of each agency. Geographic and name indexes.

Standard Rate & Data Service series
Subscription canceled 2006

Excellent source on circulation or audience, advertising rates, and format of advertising media. Includes newspapers, magazines, consumer and community publications, radio and television, and other media. Sections include:

  • Business Publication Advertising Source -- Reference HF 5905 .S723
  • Community Publication Advertising Source -- Reference HF 5905 .S72
  • Direct Marketing List Source -- Reference HF 5861 .D54
  • Hispanic Media & Market Source -- Reference HF 5415.3 .H5
  • Newspaper Advertising Source -- Reference HF 5905 .S73
  • Print Media Production Source -- Reference HF 5905 .P7
  • Radio Advertising Source -- Reference HF 5905 .S74
  • SRDS Consumer Magazine Advertising Source -- Reference HF 5905 .S725
  • SRDS TV & Cable Source -- Reference HF 5905 .S745
Television & Cable Factbook
Reference TK 6540 .T453

Geographic listings describe basic equipment, services and costs, ownership history and personnel, market rankings, and sales for television stations, cable systems, and television and cable services. See also Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook (above).

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Online version
Reference Desk Z 6941 .U5 (2005 ed.)

A list of periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.

Biographies

There are many sources for biographical information, but the focus of the titles listed below is exclusively on communications, journalism, radio, television, public relations, and related fields.

Biographical Dictionary of American Journalism
Reference PN 4871 .B56 1989
Alphabetically-arranged entries of one or two pages cover nearly 500 persons who contributed to the field of American journalism in newspapers, magazines, radio, and television from 1690 to the mid-1980s.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
Contemporary Authors
Reference PN 771 .C662
Biographical information on current authors in many fields, including journalism and television.
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
Reference PN 2012 .W5
An ongoing biographical reference series providing brief biographical information and credits of performers, directors, writers, producers, designers, technicians, composers, executives, and critics in the United States and Great Britain.
Full TextDictionary of Literary Biography series
Online version
Reference PS 21 .D5
A series of separately-edited volumes, each a collection of biographical, bibliographical, and critical essays on authors. Below are listed some of the volumes pertinent to communication. This series also is available online through the Literature Resource Center database.
  • American Magazine Journalists, 1741-1850, vol. 73
  • American Magazine Journalists, 1850-1900, vol. 79
  • American Magazine Journalists, 1900-1960: First Series, vol. 91
  • American Magazine Journalists, 1900-1960: Second Series, vol. 137
  • American Newspaper Journalists, 1690-1872, vol. 43
  • American Newspaper Journalists, 1873-1900, vol. 23
  • American Newspaper Journalists, 1901-1925, vol. 25
  • American Newspaper Journalists, 1926-1950, vol. 29
  • American Newspaper Publishers, vol. 127
  • American Sportswriters and Writers on Sport, vol. 241
  • Twentieth-Century American Sportswriters, vol. 171
Directory of American Scholars, Volume II: English, Speech, & Drama
Reference LA 2311 .D57 1999
Volume 2 profiles United States and Canadian scholars currently active in teaching, research, and publishing in the fields of communications, journalism, and speech. Volume V, the index to the set, includes a name index by discipline.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Journalists
Reference PN 4871 .T34 1986
Contains biographical information on some 600 post-World War II newspaper, magazine, and television journalists, most of whom are American.

Internet Sources

http://www.americancomm.org/
Part of the American Communication Association's Internet site, this is an annotated collection of communication-related hyperlinks organized by subfields (e.g., "Business Communication," "Mass Media and Culture").
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/
A searchable directory of Internet sources covering multiple communication topics -- advertising, journalism, media studies, rhetoric, visual communication. Includes brief annotations for each Web site listed.
http://www.aber.ac.uk/media/
A British-based gateway to Web sources useful in the academic study of media and communication. Includes links to a variety of areas, such as advertising, film studies, media education, and media influence.
http://interact.uoregon.edu/MediaLit/mlr/home/index.html
Contains many links relating to the influence of media on culture.
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2720
Covers Internet sites related to media studies, journalism, film studies, TV, radio, telecom issues, and media theory and history.
http://vlib.org/Communication.html
Extensive links to sources dealing with communications, journalism, publishers, and telecommunications, including professional groups, fellowships, conferences, news organizations, and other areas.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison for Communications is Richard H. Harrison II, Associate Librarian, rharriso@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: July 28, 2008