University of Central Florida Libraries 9/8/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Contemporary Issues Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-Pick Full Textindicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Proxy connection

Contemporary issues are current, arguable topics, such as abortion, gambling, television violence, and affirmative action. In writing a paper on contemporary issues, you must examine both sides in order to make a well-informed argument. The sources listed below will assist you in locating background information, overviews, pro and con arguments, and other materials for the issue you select.

Books and Multimedia

http://library.ucf.edu

Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia on your topic in the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.

  • At Issue (San Diego, Calif.)
  • Contemporary Issues (Buffalo, N.Y.)
  • Contemporary World Issues
  • Opposing Viewpoints Series
  • Reference Shelf
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views

(drug abuse OR designer drugs) AND (colleges OR universities)

drug ADJ abuse AND poverty

Periodical Articles

Use the following sources to find periodical articles about your topic. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.

For Online Databases:

Use your topic as a subject or keyword search. You may narrow your search by using your topic in combination with keywords such as "opinion," "editorial," "arguments," "against" "pro or pros," "con or cons," "statistics," etc.

For Printed Indexes:

Look under your topic, or under the word "editorials."

Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers), and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals.
Full TextAlternative Press Index
Online version (1991+)
Index AI 3 .A27 (1969+)
A comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information, as it indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Provides indexed and abstracted references, many with accompanying full-text periodical articles, from about 12,000 journals.
Contains articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Database is in both English and Spanish.
Indexes over 4,000 periodical titles in a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, and newswires. Includes many full-text articles.
Full Text GenderWatch (1970+)
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Supports programs in various social science subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports.
Full Text LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies)
An excellent source for full-text newspapers, press releases, and television and radio broadcast transcripts.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Indexes and abstracts articles in over 300 English-language periodicals covering a wide variety of fields. Preceded by the print index Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1901+).
Index AI 3 .R48 (1901+)
Indexes articles primarily by topic in over 300 English-language periodicals covering a wide variety of fields. Continued by the electronic database Readers' Guide Full Text (1983+).
Full Text WilsonWeb [also known as OmniFile] (coverage varies)
Provides indexed and abstracted references, many with accompanying full-text periodical articles, from about 1,400 English-language periodicals in science, humanities, education, and business.

Key Periodicals

A perusal of the following periodicals is one good way of determining "hot" contemporary issues and in helping you select a topic. Please note, however, that many other periodicals not listed here undoubtedly contain articles pertaining to your topic; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Libraries subscribe are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor. Current issues are arranged alphabetically by title on the third floor.

Periodicals that present a variety of viewpoints

Full TextAmerica
Online version (1992+)
Microfilm BX 801 .A5 (1909-50; 1979+)
General Collection BX 801 .A5 (1951-1978)
Full TextCQ Researcher
Online version (1991+)
General Collection H 35 .E352 (1991+)
Full Text Congressional Digest
Online version (1921+)
Microfilm JK 1 .C65 (1922-1966)
General Collection JK 1 .C65 (1964+)
Full TextCQ
Online version (1923+)
Microfilm JK 1 .C15 (1956-1967)
General Collection JK 1 .C15 (1968-June 1994)
Microfiche JK 1 .C15 (1994+)
Full TextForeign Affairs
Online version (1964+)
General Collection D 839 .M6 (1922/23+)
Full TextForeign Policy
Online version (1970+ except last 3 years)
Online version (1990+)
General Collection E 744 .F75 (1970/71+)
Full TextNew Leader
Online version (1992+)
Online version (1994+)
General Collection HX 1 .N37 (1973+)

Journals of opinion -- "Liberal" or "Leftist"

Full TextDissent
Online version (1995+)
Online version (2001+)
Microfilm HX 1 .D58 (1954-1968)
General Collection HX 1 .D58 (1969-2007)
Full TextMonthly Review
Online version (1994+)
General Collection HX 1 .M66 (1949-2007)
Full TextMother Jones
Online version (1985 + indexed; 1990+)
General Collection AP 2 .M794 (1976; 2003-2006)
Microfilm AP 2 .M794 (1977+)
Full TextThe Nation
Online version (1895+ indexed; 1975+)
Microfilm AP 2 .N2 (1865-1987)
Microfiche AP 2 .N2 (1988+)
New Left Review
General Collection HX 3 .N36 (1988+)
Full TextNew Republic
Online version (1955+ indexed; 1990+)
Microfilm AP 2 .N624 (1914-July 1916)
General Collection AP 2 .N624 (1915-1986; 2004-2007)
Microfiche AP 2 .N624 (1987+)
Full TextNew Statesman
Online version (1991+ indexed; 1995+)
General Collection AP 4 .N72 (1988-91)
Microfilm AP 4 .N72 (1992)
Full TextThe Progressive
Online version (1990+)
Microfilm AP 2 .P8655 (1955-1974; 1990; 1991-1993)
General Collection AP 2 .P8655 (1975-2007)

Journals of opinion -- "Conservative" or "Rightist"

Full TextCommentary
Online version (1990+)
Online version (1992+)
General Collection DS 101 .C63 (1945-2007)
Full TextThe Economist
Online version (1988+)
Online version (1990+)
Microfilm HG 11 .E2 (1843-92)
General Collection HG 11 .E2 (1893-1986; 2004-2007)
Microfiche HG 11 .E2 (1986-2003)
Full TextHuman Events
Online version (1994+)
Microfilm D 410 .H8 (1986+)
Full TextNational Review
Online version (1975+)
Online version (1994-2005)
Microfilm AP 2 .N3545 (1955-87)
Microfiche AP 2 .N3545 (1988+)
Full TextPolicy Review
Online version (1990+)
Online version (1994+)
Microfilm H 1 .P69 (1977/78-1985/86)
General Collection H 1 .P69 (1986/87-2006)
Full TextPublic Interest
Online version (1990-2005)
Online version (1994-2005)
General Collection H 1 .P86 (1965-1970)
Microfilm H 1 .P86 (1971-73)
General Collection H 1 .P86 (1974-2005)

Public Opinion

Public opinion polls can be used to document the mentality or psychology of a time, or of a group (evidence of a world view, a set of attitudes, or the popular understanding of an event or condition).  Poll results can be used to bolster an argument or to refute a popular view.

Full TextAmerican Demographics
Online version (1986-2004)
Online version (1992-2004)
General Collection HB 3505 .A66 (1985-91)
Microfilm HB 3505 .A66 (1992-2004)
Part of Advertising Age of February 2005. A monthly magazine for marketing and media that provides "an analysis of trends, issues, and events that are shaping...consumer markets" (publisher's note).
http://www.gallup.com
The Internet site of The Gallup Organization, which publishes The Gallup Poll and The Gallup Poll Monthly (below). Features the latest in-depth poll analyses and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the surveys.
Reference HN 90 .P8 G35 (1935-78, 1981+)
Presents surveys based on interviews with United States residents. An index, The Gallup Poll Cumulative Index: Public Opinion, 1935-1997 (Reference HN 90 .P8 G29 1999) is a guide to published surveys from 1935 to 1997.
General Collection HM 261 .A1 G34 (1972-2001)
Monthly presentation of interesting public opinion findings.
Index to International Public Opinion
Reference HM 261 .I552 (1978/79- 1998/99)
In two main sections: single nation surveys (arranged by topic and then country), and multinational surveys (divided by geographic area). Each entry lists date and organization responsible for conducting the survey, the sample size, questions and responses (usually in percentages). Indexed by topic, by countries and regions surveyed, and by countries and regions referenced in the surveys.
http://people-press.org
An independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics, and public policy issues. The data achieve contains numerous public surveys conducted since 1997. 
http://www.pollingreport.com
A commercial site that purports to provide "an independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion." It lists all recent polls from various sources and compares polls historically.
Full TextPublic Opinion Quarterly
Online version (1965+)
Online version (1937+ except last 5 years)
General Collection HM 261.A1 P8 (1937-2007)
The official journal of the American Association for Public Opinion Research includes comprehensive and diverse coverage on such issues as political tolerance, holocaust denial, public policy, race and the police, political rhetoric and persuasion, and affirmative action.
http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu
The site of one of the nation's leading non-profit, non-partisan public opinion data archives. Includes links to the magazine, Public Perspective, which has a number of articles available online.

Statistics

Your argument may need statistics for emphasis and to help make your case. The following sources are good starting points.

Florida Statistical Abstract
Reference Desk HA 311 .F55
Provides a comprehensive collection of statistics on social, political, and economic data of the state.
Provides over 30,000 statistical tables on various United States and foreign statistics. Includes social, political, and economic data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Reference Desk HA 202
The first place to check for statistics on the United States. Updated annually, it lists social, political, economic, and demographic data.

Internet Sources

The following sites contain information on contemporary issues. Sometimes both sides are presented and sometimes only one side is emphasized.

http://publicagenda.org
A non-partisan and non-profit organization, Public Agenda analyzes public opinion about policies and issues. Founded in 1975 and based in New York City, its purpose is to educate leaders and citizens.
http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Issues_and_Causes
If one has difficulty deciding on a contemporary issue, Yahoo!: Issues is another place to look. It contains a list of over 75 categories of issues with links to Internet sources.

Style Manuals and Citation Management Tools

The style manuals listed below offer assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation, such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks. The three major citation styles are MLA, APA, and Turabian/Chicago; check with your instructor as to which citation style you should use. In addition to the sources cited below, online versions with examples are available at http://www.library.ucf.edu/Ask/Citation.htm; the UCF Libraries also provide several citation management tools that  can be downloaded at http://library.ucf.edu/Databases/CitationManagement/Default.htm.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian/Chicago)
Reference Desk LB 2369 .T8 1996
Chapters 2-5 introduce the mechanics of writing style, from abbreviations to quotations. Chapters 6 and 7 show how to prepare and refer to tables and illustrations. The section on documentation, chapters 8-12, describes two of the most commonly used systems of citation; these chapters provide many examples including guidance on how to cite electronic documents.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 5th ed.
Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 1999
A standard guide to research, writing, and the mechanics of paper presentation in literary studies, including some examples for citing electronic publications (Internet sites, electronic journals, online books, etc.). The MLA also has a guide for citing online sources at MLA Style (http://www.mla.org).
Reference Desk BF 76.7 .P83 2001
The major style manual in psychology for students, scholars, editors, and authors experienced in psychological practices. The APA also has a guide for citing online sources at APA Style.org (http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html).

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: July 28, 2008