University of Central Florida Libraries 9/8/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Database Commands by System

Clicking on the SFX icon will often lead to full text sources.

INTERFACE SAMPLE DATABASES SEARCH & OUTPUT CAPABILITIES
Two Words as Phrase (Adjacency) Alternate Word Endings (Truncation) and Wild Cards UCF Library Holdings Link E-mail Full Text Available
WebLUIS UCF Library Catalog, Engineering Index, Florida Heritage Collection Adj

dog adj
house
?

educat?
retrieves:
education
educator
educated
In some databases, click on Title   then on "At Your Library?" In some databases, mark results (not full text) then click on "Email marked" In some databases, click on "Electronic Resource"
ABC-Clio Historical Abstracts, America: History and Life "Quotes"

"dog house"
*

educat*
retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Click on "Tagged" box then "Output Options" n/a
APS Online (via ProQuest American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1940

Only this database
"Quotes"

"dog house"
*

educat*
retrieves:
education
educator
educated

 [?=1 place only)
n/a Click on "E-mail Article" Click on "View Page Image"
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts, MEDLINE, PAIS, Sage Full Text Collections, NTIS Default

dog house
*

educat* retreives: education educator educated
[?=1 place only)
Click SFX icon From search results, mark records, then click on "Save/Print/Email Records" Availability varies, click on "Full-text" or SFX icon
Dissertation Abstracts

 (via ProQuest)
Dissertation Abstracts

 Only this database
pre1=exact phrase

 dog pre1 house
?

 educat? retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

 (Check UCF Library Catalog)
Click on "Email List" after marking 24-page preview if 1996+

 OR

  full dissertation if written at UCF ~1996+
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier, ERIC, CINAHL, PsycInfo "Quotes"

"dog house"
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated
(?=1 place only)
Click on "Check UCF Library Catalog" Icon Click on "HTML" or "PDF Full Text"
Elsevier/Science Direct Science Direct, INSPEC Default

dog house
!

educat! retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Click on "Email article" Yes
EUREKA Anthropology Plus, Chicano Database, RLG Union Catalog, English Short Title Catalog n/a ?

educat? retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Click on "Email" n/a
FirstSearch Alternative Press Index, Worldcat "Quotes" or w

"dog house"
dog w house
* or ?

educat* or educat? retrieves: education educator educated

 (#=1 place only)
Click on title then "Search the Catalog at UCF" Icon In some databases, click on "View HTML fulltext"
HAPI Hispanic American Periodicals Index

Only this database
"Quotes"

"dog house"
"Quotes"

"educat"
retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Mark records then "Save checked items to bibliography" then "View bibliography" and email Click on "Full text may be available"
InfoTrac / GaleNet Expanded Academic ASAP, General Business File ASAP w1=exact phrase

dog w1 house
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated

 (!=1 or no places)
(?=1 place only)
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Icon Click on title or icon
ISI Web of Science/Knowledge Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index Default

dog house
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated
(?=1 place only)
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Mark, click on "Submit Marks" then click on "Marked list," then click on "E-mail" n/a
JSTOR JSTOR

Only this database
Default

dog house
+

educator+ retrieves (plurals only): educator educators
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
n/a Click on title
LexisNexis LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis Congressional, LexisNexis Statistical Default

dog house
!

educat! retrieves: education educator educated
(*=1 place only)
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Icon Yes
Literature Resource Center (part of GaleNet) MLA, Literature Resource Center "Quotes"

"dog house"
*=any number of characters

?=one character within words

!=one or no characters
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Icon Varies by database
OVID MEDLINE, HealthStar, Cochrane Default

blood pressure
$ or :

educat$ or educat: retrieves: education educator educated
(#=1 place only)
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Mark records, use Citation Manager Varies by database
Project MUSE Project Muse

Only this database
"Quotes"

"dog house"
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

Check UCF Library Catalog
Mark records, then click on "Email/Export Saved Results" Click on title or "View in PDF"
ProQuest ABI/Inform, Wall Street Journal, Criminal Justice Periodical Index Default

dog house

Use quotes " " for three or more words
*=any number of characters

?=one character
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Icon Click on "full-text" or "page image"
PubMed MEDLINE "Quotes "

"blood pressure"
*

educat*
retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
n/a
Browser
Limited availability
SOFTLINE (via ProQuest) GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch Default

dog house
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated
(?=1 place only)
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
n/a Click on title
WebSpirs/SilverPlatter Social Work Abstracts, Philosopher's Index, Biological Abstracts Default

dog house
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated
n/a

(Check UCF Library Catalog)
Icon n/a
WilsonWeb Readers' Guide Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Business Full Text "Quotes"

 "dog house"
*

educat* retrieves: education educator educated
(?=1 place only)
Click on "Library Owns? Icon Icon Click on "Print Email Save" Icon

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, use the Ask a Librarian service.

Last Updated: January 30, 2008