Library Terminology Research Guide
Ask a
Librarian
For additional definitions of library or library-related terminology, or for terms not
listed in the glossary below, consult the following print or Internet sources:
A
abstract
(1) A brief summary of a book, article, or other written material. (2) A
periodical index which contains summaries
of the articles listed.
A collection, usually annual, of statistics and facts, both current and
retrospective. May be broad in geographical and subject coverage, or limited to a
particular country or state or to a special subject. Cf.
yearbook.
alphabetical
Arranged by order of the alphabet.
annotation
A brief note that describes, explains, or evaluates the subject and content of the
material listed.
anthology
A collection of writings by one or more authors, usually having a common
characteristic such as subject matter, literary form, or time period.
archives
Often used synonymously with
special collection.
Usually a place where rare books or documents are housed.
atlas
A volume of maps, with or without text.
Non-book materials such as a
disk, filmstrip,
recording, film, photograph, videotape, etc.
autobiography
A person's life history written by that person. Cf.
biography.
A-V materials
return to top
B
A record, either on cards or in a computer file, representing an item in a library.
Each record includes a description of the work (such as author, title, publisher,
place of publication), a listing of
subject headings
under which the record may be filed, and the
call number
(location) of the item. These records are filed alphabetically by author, title,
and/or subject in a
card catalog or an
online catalog.
The written history of a person's life not written by that person.
The use of three basic Boolean operators or connectors (AND, OR, NOT) to link
concepts in database searching.
Several issues of the paper copies of a
periodical
that have been sewn together and placed between hard covers, resembling a book.
A computer software program used for accessing the
World Wide Web. Some well-known browsers are Internet Explorer, Lynx,
Mosaic, and Netscape.
return to top
C
Letters, numbers, and symbols, separate or in combination, assigned to library
materials indicating the shelf location and subject
classification. Call numbers in the University of Central Florida Libraries
are derived primarily from the
Library of Congress Classification System. The call number determines the
exact location of all materials in the library much like every house in a city has
its own street address. The call number PR 3014 .G55 1994, for example, is the shelf
location for a specific book.
Case of drawers which contain cards describing the
holdings
of a library. Library patrons consult the card catalog to determine if the library
owns the material wanted, and if so, the location of those materials (from the
call number on the card). Cf.
online catalog.
An acronym derived from the phrase "compact disc-read only memory." An optical disc
read by a beam of light and carrying information that is inserted on the disc at
time of manufacture which cannot be altered subsequently. In library jargon, the
term usually refers to an item such as a
reference
book or a
periodical index which
is on compact disc and accessed by a microcomputer.
To borrow or take materials out of the library. In order to check out materials at
the University of Central Florida Libraries, you must go to the
circulation desk near the entrance and show
your UCF Card.
The area where library users check out books, return books, renew books, request
help searches for books that cannot be found on the shelf, and pay fines for overdue
books.
Reserve materials in the University of
Central Florida Libraries also are located at the circulation desk.
A complete reference to a book, periodical article, or another publishing format,
such as author, title, publisher, publication date, and page number. Sometimes
called a
reference.
The division or arrangement of materials by subject, number, size, or any other
specified criteria for locating material in any particular order. The
Library of Congress
Classification System is arranged according to subject.
classification number
A scheme for the arrangement of books and/or other materials so that materials of
the same subject are placed together on the shelves. The
Dewey Decimal System is one example of a
classification system. The
Library of Congress Classification System is the principal system used in
the University of Central Florida Libraries.
controlled vocabulary
Standardized terms used in searching a specific
database.
These terms differ for each database.
cumulation
The successive gathering of entries of earlier issues or volumes into a single
volume. For instance,
citations in the monthly
issues of a
periodical index often are cumulated yearly
into one volume.
Issues of a
magazine,
journal, or a newspaper published very recently, usually during the last
year. Sometimes referred to as "loose issues." Current periodicals at the University
of Central Florida Libraries are found on the third floor.
return to top
D
A large body of information usually stored in a computer, which can process it and
from which particular pieces of information can be retrieved. PsycINFO and MLA
Bibliography are two examples of bibliographic databases listing
citations
to literature in psychology and literature, respectively.
descriptor
A word that describes the subject of a periodical or a book; used in many
databases. The term often is used synonymously with
subject heading.
The
classification system developed by
Melvil Dewey in 1876 which divides knowledge into ten main numeric classes, with
further subdivisions, accompanied by decimal notation. The Dewey Decimal System is
used to classify books in the Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) of the University of
Central Florida Libraries.
A book or books containing the words of a language alphabetically arranged, with
their meanings, pronunciation, etymology, etc. Cf.
glossary.
Also sometimes known as a "floppy disk." A thin platter coated with magnetic
material on which data can be stored via a computer.
download
(1) To transfer information from a computer to a computer disk. (2) To transfer
information from one computer to another using a
modem.
The date stamped in the back or front of a library book when it is checked out,
telling the patron when the book must be returned to the library.
An abbreviation for "Digital Versatile Disk," a high-density mass storage medium
similar to a
CD-ROM, but capable of storing much
larger amounts of information due to improvements in recording density and use of
multiple layers per side. A DVD is an optical disk read by a beam of light and
carrying information and/or images.
return to top
E
A shortened form of the phrase "electronic journal." A
journal
or other
periodical that is in electronic format;
that is, it can be read via computer. See also
full text.
electronic copy
A book or set of books containing informational
articles
on subjects in every field of knowledge, usually arranged in alphabetical order, or
a similar work limited to a special field or subject.
return to top
F
The amount of money owed by an individual who borrowed a book that is not returned
by the
due date.
format
The complete text, usually of an article from a
periodical,
that can be read via computer. See also
e-journal.
return to top
G
gazetteer
A geographical dictionary in which names and descriptions (including location) of
places are given.
general collection
In the University of Central Florida Libraries, the general collection refers to the
location of
bound periodicals (which may not
be
checked out) and books (which may be
checked out). The general collection
stacks are on floors 1, 3, 4, and 5.
A brief alphabetical list of unusual, obsolete, or technical terms, all concerned
with a particular subject or area of interest, that are defined. Cf.
dictionary.
government documents
(1) Any official publication such as a
monograph,
serial, report, communication, etc., issued by a
governmental agency at any level (federal, state, local). (2) The area of a library
where government documents are housed. In the University of Central Florida
Libraries, government documents are shelved in a specific area on the second floor.
return to top
H
Derived from a German word which meant -- literally -- a book that can be held in
the hand. Usually refers to a
reference book
that can be used for instruction or guidance on a particular subject.
hold
A request that guarantees a book checked out to a library user will be saved for
another library user when it is returned. A "hold" can be placed on any regularly
circulating books in the UCF Libraries through the
circulation desk
or by completing an online form.
A statement or record of the volumes and dates of a particular work owned by a
library. The
card catalog or
online catalog is one example of a holdings
record for a library.
A combination "welcome mat" and table of contents for a
World Wide Web site. The home page usually
contains
hypertext links to other related documents
on the home page or anywhere else on the Web.
HTML
An abbreviation for Hypertext Markup Language, the authoring language used to create
documents on the
World Wide Web.
Addresses or "pointers" embedded in a
World Wide Web
document (usually highlighted and/or underlined) which allows a
browser to access other information on a
home page or elsewhere on the Web.
return to top
I
An alphabetical list of topics, names, etc., in a book or group of books, with
references to pages or item numbers where these topics, names, etc., are located.
See also
periodical index.
interlibrary loan (I.L.L.)
A transaction in which, upon request, one library lends an item from its collection,
or furnishes a copy of the item, to another library not under the same
administration or on the same campus.
A loose confederation of electronic networks around the world which can exchange
information via computers.
Any organization, such as America Online (AOL) or BellSouth, that provides access to
the
Internet.
return to top
J
A
periodical on a specific topic, usually
scholarly in nature, often issued by a professional organization for a specialized
audience.
return to top
K
keyword
A significant or descriptive word used in searching a
database
or an
online catalog for finding information.
A "keyword search" will find all occurrences of a word in a database or an online
catalog.
return to top
L
The length of time materials owned by a library may be borrowed.
The letter-number system developed by the Library of Congress in 1897 for arranging
its own collections and later adopted by other libraries. The alphabetic symbols
denote broad, general subject areas, while the numerals which follow indicate facets
within a subject (e.g., D=History, DC=French History, DC 141=French History,
Revolutionary and Napoleonic Period, 1789-1815).
A large, red, five-volume guide to the
subject
headings
used in Web Luis, the online catalog of the University of Central Florida Libraries.
It is an alphabetical list of the official subject headings which may be used in the
catalog. As there is usually more than one way to refer to a topic,
LCSH
gives the exact wording, format, and punctuation for subject headings as they will
appear in the catalog.
LCSH also lists related headings (identified by the
codes BT, RT, and NT) and refers the user from terms which are not used (denoted by
the code UF or the term "USE") to the official headings.
loose issues
return to top
M
A
periodical intended for general readership, or
a non-scholarly audience. Usually, magazines are bought at a newsstand and do not
have a
bibliography. Examples of magazines
include
Time,
Newsweek, and
Sports Illustrated.
media reserve
A small collection of videotapes and other
audio-visual materials set aside by instructors for the use of a particular
class. Media reserve is located on the third floor of the University of Central
Florida Libraries at the Periodicals/A-V Desk.
A flat sheet of photographic film, usually 6x4 inches, containing images arranged in
a grid pattern which must be read with a microfiche reader/printer. Synonymous with
the term "fiche." Cf.
microfilm.
Photographic film containing images that must be read with magnification. The term
normally refers to roll film sufficiently long enough to be placed on reels,
cartridges, or cassettes and read with a microfilm reader/printer. Usually produced
on 16mm or 35mm film. Cf.
microfiche.
A general term applied to all forms of microreproduction on film or paper, such as
microfiche or
microfilm.
A device that converts signals from one form to a form compatible with another kind
of equipment; specifically, computer data is transformed to analog signals to be
sent over telephone lines.
A work published singly on one subject; usually refers to a book.
return to top
N
non-print materials
A generic term for materials in a form other than the printed word. Non-print
materials include
disks,
DVDs,
film, filmstrips, photographs, videotapes, and other
audio-visual materials.
return to top
O
online catalog
Also referred to as an "online public access catalog." A computer-based library
card catalog designed to be accessed via terminals.
The University of Central Florida Libraries has an
online catalog as opposed to the
traditional card catalog.
OPAC
overdue
When a book has not been returned by the
due date
stamped in the book, it is considered late, or overdue.
return to top
P
PDF
An abbreviation for "Portable Document Format." Developed by the software company
Adobe, a file format that maintains in an online version the page layout, fonts, and
graphics of a document, exactly as the document appears in print format. Software
known as Adobe Acrobat Reader, freely available for downloading to computers, must
be used to read the document.
A term used interchangeably with
magazine or
journal. A
serial
publication intended to appear indefinitely at regular intervals. Usually contains
separate articles or other writings. A periodical is a serial, but not all serials
are periodicals.
An
index to material contained in several
periodicals, usually arranged by subject and/or
author. Periodical indexes in the University of Central Florida Libraries collection
are marked with "Index" as part of the call number.
An original manuscript, contemporary record, or document created at the time an
event occurred. Cf.
secondary source.
return to top
R
reader/printer
A machine which magnifies microimages on
microforms
and which also can print the images.
To request that a book which has already been
checked out
be returned to the library before its
due date. You
may ask for the recall of a book owned by the University of Central Florida
Libraries by completing a form at the
circulation
desk.
(1) A direction from one heading to another, also called a
cross reference. (2) A note referring to another
document or to the passage of a text, also called a "footnote."
A book designed by its arrangement and treatment to be consulted for definite terms
of information rather than to be read consecutively, such as an
almanac,
dictionary,
encyclopedia,
handbook,
or
yearbook. A reference book usually is restricted
to use in the library building only; it does not circulate. Reference books in the
University of Central Florida Libraries are marked with "REF" as part of the call
number.
reference service
The aid or instruction given by the library staff to a library patron to find
information.
remote access
Allows library patrons to access online library resources, such as
databases and catalogs, from an off-campus site.
Materials which have been taken from the library collection and/or materials
submitted by an instructor and reserved for the use of a particular group. Reserve
materials in the University of Central Florida Libraries may be obtained at the
circulation desk.
return to top
S
search engine
A
World Wide Web site that can be used to
locate information on the Web. There are many excellent search engines, including
Google, Lycos, and Yahoo.
A work that is not an original manuscript, contemporary record, or a document
associated with an event, but which critiques, comments on, or builds upon
primary sources.
A direction in a
card catalog or
index from a term or name under which no
citation is listed to a term or name under which a
citation is listed.
A direction in a card catalog or index to a related term or name under which an
additional
citation is listed.
A publication issued in parts indefinitely over time. Included are
periodicals, newspapers, proceedings, transactions,
etc.
series
Separate publications on a specific subject having a collective title in addition to
the individual title. Series usually have an uniform format and usually are issued
by the same publisher, and may or may not be numbered (e.g., Comedy is the
title of a book in the "Critical Idiom" series).
SFX
An acronym for "Special Effects." A context-sensitive reference linking product that
allows users to start with an item of interest found in one information resource or
database ("Source"), view a menu of additional options
("Services") related to that item available via other information resources, and
then directly access the selected resource ("Target") at the appropriate level.
A collection of library materials separated from the general collection because they
are in a certain form, on a certain subject, of a certain period or geographical
area, rare, fragile, or valuable. Often used synonymously with the term
archives.
A series of bookcases or sections of shelving for the storage of a library's
collection. A
call number is needed to locate
specific books in the stacks.
return to top
T
thesaurus
A book of synonyms and antonyms in classified or subject order.
return to top
U
return to top
V
return to top
W
Windows
A commercial computer software system that allows text and computer commands to be
displayed graphically in moveable boxes or "windows" on the computer screen.
Also called "WWW" or "the Web." A world-wide electronic information system, part of
the
Internet, that uses
hypertext links to retrieve text, graphics,
sound, full-motion video, etc., by means of a
browser.
return to top
Y
An annual collection of facts or statistics of the preceding year, frequently
limited to a special subject. Cf.
almanac.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance,
Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department
at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at
askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:May 05, 2009