University of Central Florida Libraries 10/13/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Publishing Opportunities Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Text indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Proxy connection

General Sources

The American Directory of Writer's Guidelines: What Editors Want, What Editors Buy
Reference PN 147 .A479 1997
A compilation of submission guidelines for more than 1,000 periodical publishers and more than 400 book publishers.
An Author's Guide to Scholarly Publishing
General Collection Z 286 .S37 D46 1996
A manual on how to plan and prepare a book, approach a publisher, secure a contract, and build an author-publisher relationship. Covers all types of book publication: standard monographs, technical books, conference volumes, edited volumes, collected papers, textbooks, and works built on dissertations.
Full TextDirectory of Electronic Journals, Newsletters, and Academic Discussion Lists
Reference Z 6951 .D625 1997
Published under the auspices of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), includes over 7,000 listings of journals, newsletters, magazines, and professional e-conferences accessible via the Internet. While dated (and no longer published), this directory none the less provides a starting point for identifying e-journals and the like.
Reference PN 4867 .G3
An annual guide to publications and broadcasting stations. Identifies specific print and broadcast sources of news and advertising for trade, business, labor, and professionals. Arrangement is geographic with a thumbnail description of each local market. Indexes are classified (by format and subject matter) and alphabetical (by name and keyword). Available online through Gale's Ready Reference Shelf (below).
A searchable directory listing information about approximately 25,000 periodicals and 12,000 newsletters. Use the "Extended Search Mode (Publications)" option to find information about specific titles and the "Search by Subject Descriptor" option to obtain a list of titles by topic. The print equivalent is the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (above).
International Directory of Little Magazines and Small Presses
Reference PN 4836 .I58
Entries appear in one alphabetical listing. Information usually includes comments by the editors related to editorial policies and types of material published. Includes state, country, and subject indexes.
International Literary Market Place
Reference Z 291.5 .I5
An annual directory of publishers and book-trade organizations, arranged by country.
Literary Market Place: LMP
Reference PN 161 .L5
An annual directory of organizations, periodicals, and book publishers in the United States and Canada.
Magazines for Libraries
Reference PN 4832 .K32
Annotates and evaluates approximately 7,000 periodicals. Helpful for identifying basic titles in a broad range of fields. Entries for each title are arranged by topic, then alphabetically, and includes contact and indexing information. Title index.
Top-pick Full Text Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Online version
Reference Desk Z 6941 .U5
A list of periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.
The Writer's Market
Reference PN 161 .W83
An annual guide for freelance writers, covering the practical side of publishing, including information about book publishers, magazine, trade and professional journals, scriptwriting, and syndicates. Subject index of book publishers.
Writer's Online Marketplace: How and Where to Get Published Online
Reference PN 161. O45 2001
Includes an annotated list of online publications, alternative markets, and commercial e-publishers.

Subject-Specific Sources

Arts and Humanities

Fine Arts Periodicals: An International Directory of the Visual Arts
General Collection N 1.A1 R6 1991
According to the preface, "Contains data in an annotated listing by broad subject areas of more than 2,790 currently published periodicals, newsletters, and newspapers."
http://sophia.smith.edu/~jmoulton/guidebook/home.html
The online version of the 1986 print edition by Dr. Janice Moulton, professor of philosophy at Smith College, providing information on just over 100 leading philosophy journals.
Full TextThe Iowa Guide: Scholarly Journals in Mass Communication and Related Fields
Online version
Reference P 88.8 .I55 1998
Describes the manuscript requirements and review processes of more than 125 English-language scholarly journals published worldwide which focus on journalism, mass communication, or communication.
Online version
Index PB6 .M6222
Provides information on all journals and series included in the master list of the MLA International Bibliography. In addition to address, name of editor(s), and first date of publication, each entry includes information on editorial content and submission requirements.
MLA Directory of Scholarly Presses in Language and Literature
Reference Z 286 .S37 M52 1996
A companion to the MLA Directory of Periodicals (above), describing the fields of interest, submission requirements, contract provisions, and editorial procedures of scholarly publishers of book-length literary and linguistic studies.
Novel and Short Story Writer's Market
Reference PN 3355 .F47
Entries for book publishers, magazines, literary agents, contests and script houses, plus brand new information on e-publishers, including interviews with industry experts and editors of e-magazines.
Poet's Market
Reference PN 1059 .M3 P55
Lists more than 1,700 publishers of poetry, with a brief journal profile, submission requirements, and contact information.

Business and Law

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting
Reference H 91 .C23 2001-02
Lists over 130 journals in the field.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance
Reference H 91 .C24 2001-02
A two-volume set listing information on over 350 economics and finance journals.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Management
Reference HD 28 .C14 2001-02
A four-volume set listing information on over 450 management journals.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Marketing
Reference HF 5410 .C23 2001-02
Lists information on more than 150 marketing journals.
International Guide to Accounting Journals
Reference HF 5657 .S772 1993
The first section lists journals alphabetically by title, with information about the review process, subject, and manuscript submission. A second section lists titles by country of origin.
Refereed and Nonrefereed Economic Journals: A Guide to Publishing Opportunities
General Collection HB 63 .M54 1988
Provides manuscript submission information for over two hundred academic and professional economic journals accepting manuscripts in English, with specific information on reviewing practices and a discussion of refereed and non-refereed journals. Entries for each journal, listed alphabetically by title, include brief bibliographical information about the age and affiliation of the journal, frequency of publication, circulation, and audience. A concise statement of the journal's editorial policy is included.

Education and Library Science

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Education
Reference Z 286 .E3 C32 1998-99
Lists information (review procedures, acceptance rates, etc.) on approximately 400 education journals. A subject index classifies titles by specific topic.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods
Reference Z 286. E3 C322
CMC Reference 070.57 Cab
A two-volume set listing information on over 350 journals dealing with educational curriculum and instructional methods.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration
Reference Z 286 .E3 C323
CMC Reference 070.57 Cab
A two-volume set with information on over 225 educational psychology and educational administration journals.
Guide to Publishing Opportunities for Librarians
General Collection Z 665.2 .U6 S37 1995
Practical information on periodicals and serials that publish articles likely to be written by and for librarians. Entries include name and address of the appropriate editor, indexing and abstracting services that include the publication, editorial aim and policy, intended audience, manuscript style requirement, and acceptance rate.
http://designer.50g.com/journals.htm
Lists 46 journals in the field, indicating editorial focus, usual length of articles, and whether or not the title is refereed. Many titles have links to the publishers or organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
Professional Writing: Processes, Strategies, and Tips for Publishing in Educational Journals
General Collection PN 146 .H39 1994
Presents insights, tips, strategies, and recommendations for publishing in educational periodicals.
http://www.indiana.edu/~libsalc/SOTL/
A comprehensive list of journals, both general and subject-specific, that publish articles related to the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL). This bibliography is maintained by the Indiana University Libraries at Bloomington.

Science, Engineering, and Health Sciences

Author's Handbook of Styles for Life Science Journals
Reference R 119 .A85 1996
Covers 440 English-language life science journals. Entries, listed alphabetically by title, include information on submission guidelines.
http://mulford.meduohio.edu/instr/
An Internet site maintained by the Medical College of Ohio that provides links to other Internet sites which provide instructions to authors for over 3,500 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to "primary sources" (i.e., publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles).
Publishing Opportunities for Energy Research: A Descriptive Guide to Selective Serials in the Social and Technical Sciences
General Collection TJ 163.2 .S35 1986
Entries for 522 journals provide information about peer review status, review period and lag-time for publication, acceptance rate, and scope notes.
Writer's Guide to Nursing Periodicals
Reference RT 24 .D35 2000
Provides information on 101 nursing journals. Each entry includes the purpose/focus of journal, manuscript submission instructions, author guidelines for the typing and layout, number of papers submitted each year for publication and their acceptance rates, average turnaround time from manuscript submittal response, publishing time after a manuscript acceptance, and internet address of the publisher.

Social Sciences

Anthropology Journals and Serials: An Analytical Guide
General Collection GN 1 .W54 1986
Although dated, describes an enormous range of serials and includes annotations. Divided by archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Includes a section on indexes and abstracts. Title, subject, and geographic indexes.
Author's Guide to Journals in the Behavioral Sciences
General Collection BF 76.8 .W36 1989
Compiled by Dr. Alvin Wang of the UCF Department of Psychology. Provides information on the editorial and publication policies of 437 journals of interest to behavioral scientists, particularly psychologists. Although the journals were chosen from those indexed in the PsycINFO database, a number of sociology journals are included. Entries are organized alphabetically by journal title. Each entry lists editor(s), address for submissions, subscription address, where indexed, style requirements, acceptance rates, review periods, and average page length of articles. A journal title and a keyword index are provided.
An Author's Guide to Publishing Better Articles in Better Journals in the Behavioral Sciences
General Collection BF 76.8 .K86 1994
Summarizes the current dissatisfaction expressed by many with the journal publication system and offers suggestions for improvement. Guidelines are offered on methods for selecting significant research problems with recommendations for meaningful statistical analyses. Empirical and quasi-empirical studies on the journal publication system are provided, which focus on the peer review process and on biases inherent in the determination of which manuscripts are selected for publication.
An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals
Reference HV 85 .A93 1997
Lists style guidelines and format requirements for 138 titles, as well as journal affiliation, editorial focus, acceptance rates, circulation, etc.
The Directory of Journals in Public Affairs, Public and Non-Profit Administration, and Political Science
Reference JA 60 .D57 1999
Provides detailed information on over 300 journals, with an overview of each title, as well as detailed information on where to publish and identification of titles that include book reviews.
Getting Published in Women's Studies: An International, Interdisciplinary Professional Development Guide Mainly for Women
General Collection PN 471 .W45 1989
Provides helpful advice on selecting the appropriate book publisher or journal, how to submit manuscripts to maximize the chances of getting an editor's attention, and negotiating a book contract.
Guide to Publishing in Psychology Journals
Reference BF 76.8 .G85 2000
Contains 14 essays on writing for psychology, such as "Writing Effectively About Design," "Doing Data Analyses and Writing Up Their Results: Selected Tricks and Artifices," and "Article Writing 101: A Crib Sheet of 50 Tips for the Final Exam."
Historical Journals: A Handbook for Writers and Reviewers
Reference D 10 .S73 1993
Descriptions of some 700 U.S. and Canadian history journals, with indications of their scope and scholarly rigor.
Journals in Psychology: A Resource Listing for Authors
Reference BF 76.8 .J68 1997
Covers 350 English-language journals specializing in the behavioral and social sciences. Lists general information about each title's publisher, editor, editorial policy, manuscript preparation requirements, number of articles and pages published per year, number of subscribers. frequency, book review inclusion, and rejection rate.

Other Directories

The following SUBJECT HEADINGS in the UCF Library Catalog may be helpful in locating other specialized sources of information:

Academic writing
Authorship
Book proposals
Humanities--Authorship
Medical sciences--Authorship
Scholarly publishing
Social sciences--Authorship
Technical writing

Journal Rankings

Full Text Journal Citation Reports: JCR (2000+)
A set of CD-ROMs
Journal citation Reports on CD-ROM: JCR: Science Edition
Reference Q 1. J67 (earlier editions in Media
A resources tool for journal evaluation and comparison of usage patterns for scholarly journals in the sciences, using citation data drawn from approximately 6, 500 titles worldwide. Among other data, JCR can provide a list of the most frequently cited titles, those with highest impact (i.e., the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year), and those with the greatest immediacy (i.e., how quickly the average article in a journal is cited).
Journal Citation Reports on CD-ROM: JCR Social Sciences Edition
Reference H1. J52 (earlier editions in Media)
A resource tool for journal evaluation and comparison of usage patterns for scholarly journals in the social sciences, using citation data drawn from approximately 1,700 titles worldwide. Among other data, JCR can provide a list of the most frequently cited titles, those with highest impact (i.e., the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year), and those with the greatest immediacy (i.e., how quickly the average article in a journal is cited).

Other Sources

http://www.library.ucf.edu/Databases/CitationManagement/Default.htm
The UCF Libraries subscribe to and make available online for UCF students, faculty, and staff four citation management programs: EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks, and Reference Manager. These programs help researchers: (1) collect citations from online sources; (2) organize references by subject, project, author, or other schemes; and (3) create bibliographies formatted according to MLA, APA, or other widely used citation styles.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: July 28, 2008