University of Central Florida Libraries
3/15/2010
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

APA Format

Check with your professor for any individual preferences in citation styles, particularly journal articles from a database. This information comes from both thePublication Manual of the American Psychological Association 5th edition and the APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources 2007.

Online Resources

Examples

Electronic /eBooks from a database

Thorne, K. (2007). Essential creativity in the classroom: inspiring kids. Retrieved from NetLibrary database.

Book chapter from electronic books

Byrne, A. (2004). What phenomenal consciousness is like. In R.C. Gennaro (Ed.), Higher-order theories of consciousness: An anthology (pp. 203-225). Retrieved from NetLibrary database.

Dissertation from a database

Weitz, S.A. (2007). Bourbon, pork chops, and red peppers: Political immorality in Florida, 1945—1968. Retrieved from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. (AAT 3263791)

Journal Article with DOI assigned

Calcagno, J., Crosta, P., Bailey, T., & Jenkins, D. (2007). Stepping stones to a degree: The impact of enrollment pathways and milestones on community college student outcomes. Research in Higher Education, 48(7), 775-801. doi: 10.1007/s11162-007-9053-8

Journal Article (no DOI assigned) retrieved from the Internet

Albright, T.L. & Burge, S.K. (2003). Improving firearm storage habits: Impact of brief office counseling by family physicians. The Journal of the American Board of Family Practice, 16(1), 40-46. Retrieved from http://www.jabfm.org/cgi/reprint/16/1/40

Journal Article (no DOI assigned) retrieved from a database

Hoffman, C. B. & Rowland, D. (2007). Covering America's uninsured. American Journal of Nursing, 104(4), 75-79. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Magazine Article (no DOI assigned) retrieved from a database

Lowry, R. (2007, December 3). Cut from the same cloth. National Review. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Magazine Article (no DOI assigned) retrieved from Internet

Morrissey, J. (2008, February 19). How bad will the mortgage crisis get? Time. Retrieved from http://www.time.com/time/business/article/0,8599,1714725,00.html

Newspaper Article retrieved from Internet

Dillon, S. (2008, February 27). Survey finds teenagers ignorant on basic history and literature questions. New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2008/02/27/us/27history.html?_r=1&ref=education&oref=slogin

Newspaper Article retrieved from database

Pesquera, A. (2007, December 6). Small businesses learn, network at conference. San Antonio Express-News, p. 2E. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic database.

ERIC Document

Andrews, S.E. (2007). The impact of modeling upon preservice teachers in a content area reading course. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED499388). Retrieved from ERIC.

Annual Report

Anheuser-Busch Companies. (2006). Brewing our future: 2006 annual report. Retrieved from http://www.anheuser-busch.com/_pdf/2006AR_Anheuser_Busch.pdf

Article on Web site

Pons, M. (2002). School vouchers: The emerging track record. National Education Association. Retrieved from http://www.nea.org/vouchers/02voutrack.html

Article on Web site no author or date

Voucher. (n.d.). National Education Association. Retrieved February 29, 2008, from http://www.nea.org/vouchers/index.html

Video post

Greig, T. (2007, November 18). Bibliographic instruction business card stickers. [Video file]. Video posted to http://youtube.com/watch?v=B0v64bZ08HQ