University of Central Florida Libraries
3/15/2010
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

 

PAD6142 Library Module - Practice Exercises 3

To complete this exercise, print a copy of this page from your browser or download the Word document to your computer.

Business Source Premier Exercise

From the UCF Library homepage (http://library.ucf.edu), click on Articles & Databases.

Type in your 14-digit activated library ID number and password in the off-campus access box and click on Login.

Click on B in the alphabetical line under the Databases A-Z.

Click on Business Source Premier.

Check box by Business Source Premier and click on Continue.

On the top line, type nonprofit.

In the next line, type accountability. Change the dropdown box to TI Title.

Click in the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box.
Click the Search button.

Click on the article titled “Accountability for Empowerment: Dilemmas Facing Non-Governmental Organizations”.

1. Who is the author of the article?

a. Elizabeth Keating

b. Patrick Kilby

c. Eva Aldrich

Click on Linked Full Text. Scroll down to view the HTML full text. Compare with the PDF version. Which did you like better?

In the upper right hand corner, click on the blue hyperlinked Univ of Central Florida.

Business Full Text Exercise

Make sure the proxy is still on, if not access EZProxy and then find the database Business Full Text.

Advanced Search is the default.

Type nonprofit in the first box and change the drop down box menu to keyword.

Type financial management in the second box and change the drop down menu to keyword.

Click in the Full Text box. Click in the Peer Reviewed box. Click Start.

Find the article “Enron-Proof Oversight”

2. In what journal was this article published?

a. Financial Management

b. Business Economics

c. Association Management

At this point you have several options:
1. Click on the FullText icon or the PDF icon – either will take you directly to the full text of the article.

2. Click on the title of the article - this takes you to an abstract which you can review and decide to go on to the full text if necessary.

3. Click in the box to the left of the title and mark this (to print, email or save) so that you can refer to the citation later.

ABI/Inform Database Exercise

As above, using the EZproxy, access ABI/Inform.

Select Advanced Search (in the top left-hand side).

Look at the fields provided in the drop down menu.

Type nonprofit organization? in the first box (include the question mark).

Change the field to Subject.

Keep the Boolean Operator as And.

Type market* in the second box (include the asterisk).

Leave the second field as Citation And Abstract.

Type mergers in the third field. Leave the third field as Citation And Abstract.

Limit your search to Scholarly Journals.

Click on the Search button.

3. Find the article: “Nonprofit Mergers” by Mary L. Hiland. In what journal is the article published?

a. Strategic Finance

b. Association Management

c. Consulting to Management

4. Click on the Text & Graphics icon to pull up the complete record. What is another subject assigned to the article?

a. Association management

b. Acquisitions & Mergers

c. Foundations